Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4
    Hello all,

    It's my first post here. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

    [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img] Do you know how to truncate a link to cgi script from

    http://somedomainname/cgi-bin/search...puter+internet

    to

    http://somedomainname/?keywords=computer+internet

    Thank you,
    Daniel

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    What language do you want to do this in?

    Stewart Hutton | Are you Crazy?

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4
    I would like to use Perl/CGI to this. Can't remember where I saw it [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img] but I think it's possible.

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    I think you would need to be able to run cgi scripts from any location & be able to have index.cgi in place of an index.html etc.
    Rename search.cgi to index.cgi & place that in the root directory.

    I can't tell you if there are any security issues or not here, but I'd investigate that area too.

    Tick

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,423
    That is what I was thinking, it is an apache setting, not a script setting.

    Chet

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador CrazyGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,463
    Maybe you need to be very clear about what you want to do. I see two possibilities:

    1) You want people to be able to enter the short version in their browser - or click on that link somewhere, but the result is that the long version gets executed? And you won't/can't change or move that (long) location/script name?

    2) You have scripts with the long version in them, and you want to process that URL (as a string if you like) to change it to the short version.

    The second one is fairly straightforward - which makes me think it's probably the first one you want. Or something else?

    Stewart Hutton | Are you Crazy?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks all!

    Let me try changing search.cgi to index.cgi. I guess I need to change all instances of search.cgi. Hope there are only few.

    Daniel

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4
    It works!!! Index.cgi works [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

    Thank you all!!!

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. LInk Locator Script?
    By netnow22 in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 5th, 2006, 04:53 PM
  2. Link Swapping Script
    By Steveinid in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 6th, 2004, 07:12 PM
  3. ftp truncating to 2000 matches
    By ahugedeal in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2004, 05:37 AM
  4. Excel truncating text in cells
    By Tiebreaker in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: December 19th, 2003, 01:40 AM
  5. external link tracking script
    By mousejockey in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2002, 06:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •