Anyone else have their scripts to the point that no sane person should ever be allowed to look them over. I can't believe what I have done. It's grown into a monster.

Memphis TN
    AMEN Brother.... My name is Chris and I am a scripting junkie and a geek.

Man does that feel better.

Recycled Talent - Architects of custom scripts and snippets, perfectly written to suit any need. We stay on top of the latest technology so you don't have to.
    Total Stupidity - Shining light on stupid things.

I'd be totally embarassed for anyone to see my scripts.

All self-taught old-school Perl, no doubt average 3-5 steps where 1 could be used, don't understand modules, so no objects anywhere.

I have considered if it would be a good investment to have someone rewrite them all in updated, efficient code, but there's the shame of letting them see the things in the first place, and the worry that I might not be able to maintain them in future. So I'll probably have to start renting another server to cope with my bloated inefficient way of doing things.

Take off eh?
    sounds like my orginal asp scripts .... and my php scripts .... ok let's be honest, I'm pretty sure that also covers my javascript and even my html. Oh and don't even get me started on my sql skills. My stored procedures have stored procedures that call packages that consist of stored procedures.
    I'm sure that can't be good
    I'm so glad i moved beyond the "idiots Guide" books, now I wish someone would come out with the "Idiots guide to fixing what you did you idiot" series.
    seriously though, it's cool going back to old sites, tidying things up with new tricks, etc that I have learned over the last year or so and being able to visibly see the increase in query speed when I visit the sites.
    Makes me glad I have had patient visitors