I'm very new to Amazon and have only just begun using their XML service. It's pretty neat, but there are definitely trade-offs. The biggest I've found is the 10 product per query limit. No UPC search on most categories either. I wouldn't mind dynamically calling their server as one of my users views an Amazon product, but without a UPC search there's no clean method to do a price comparison. Because of this I need to download and cache their entire database, 10 products at a time. It's an interesting challenge and I've got some good ideas to deal with it, but is this the only way? In the long run I'll need to dedicate a server just to this process. We'll see what it's worth.

- Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

AffiliateMan
    You don't need to download all the products and your really don't want to try. Amazon only allows you to cache information for 24 hours, so you'd have to download information about millions of products each day - kind of defeating the purpose!

Caching your AWS queries is pretty simple. You can see examples of how to it in the PHP source for my scripts at:

http://www.browsenodes.com/proxy/
    http://www.browsenodes.com/contextads/

-- Roger

I realize I need to download a million products a day, but I'm looking for a more efficient way to do it. As it stands now I can only get 10 products at a time from Amazon's XML server. I know I'm going to need a dedicated server just for this process, but sometimes you just have to do what you have to do.

I looked at your scripts and I think you're only caching the results that are manually pulled, correct? I need to get *all* of Amazon's data if I'm going to use it effectively.

- Scott

AffiliateMan
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Snib:
    I realize I need to download a million products a day, but I'm looking for a more efficient way to do it. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>