Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: BettyMills Q4 DataFeed

  1. #1
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    50
    We are in process of updating the new datafeed for Q4. It should be ready in the next few days.

    Stay tuned.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    Is it soup yet?

  3. #3
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    50
    Q4 Datafeed is up and ready to be downloaded.

    The generic zip file will be updated shortly.

    Please update your websites as soon as possible. We've added over 800 new products.

    Products include:
    Duramax Sheds
    Training Videos from D2K

    Lots of exciting things are happening here at BettyMills this quarter. Be on the lookout for new product promotions and contests as well as new FPC's and banners.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    Any news about the generic feed?

  5. #5
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    50
    The generic feed is up and ready.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    What is a generic feed?

  7. #7
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    50
    The generic feed is a version (no embedded affiliate ID) of our two datafeeds in zip format.

    Your custom Affiliate ID is not included in the URL, so you must search and replace on the website_url in column A to include your own BettyMills affiliate ID.

    We have this feed available for affiliates that may experience download problems due to a slow connection or when using dial up.

    Happy Friday!

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    Thanks for changing column names again. A lot of extra work. That's why I don't update every quarter.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    Can you create a PIPE delimeted Generic feed because I cannot use the csv feed. MS Access is making a mess of the feed, because Access uses every comma as a separator.

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    It imports to Access okay for me. Did you set the text qualifer?

  11. #11
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    No I didn't, because I thought all fields should have text qualifer. Now I tried it, and it solved the problem. Thanks Jane.

  12. #12
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    What have you done with the description fields ("Extended detail"). Many fields are cut off at a certain length. They are now ending with something like "Sheet Tray Capacit"

    On the BM site, the bulleted lines have breaks on every line. But not on the feed. Any reason for this? It doesn't look good now.

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    Glad I could help Uphill, since I am pretty much a database dummy. Do you have Excel? I opened the feed in Access today because it is easier to pull out just the parts I want. I think Access has a limit on how much stuff can be in a field and my guess is that is why things are being cut off? I also saw lots of strange characters that don't show up when I open it in Excel

  14. #14
    Affiliate Marketing Consultant Andy Rodriguez's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Sunny Miami
    Posts
    8,384
    Uphill, Jane...

    Try this: www.textpad.com

    Your RAM is your limit, can sort by anything, change cases, and supports html.

    I've been using it daily for years....

    Good stuff...
    Andy Rodriguez Consulting, Affiliate Program Management and Consulting Services, Since 2001
    www.andyrodriguez.com | E: abw@andyrodriguez.com | P: (888) 931-ANDY (2639) | Skype: affiliatedoctor | AIM & MSN: AffiliateDoctor | Subscribe To Our ABW Forum Posts | Follow me on Twitter | Join Our Affiliate Programs

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    Try this...

    Access fields with the data type set to Text are limited to 255 characters [or the number specified in Field Size, whichever is smaller]. Try to insert longer strings into a text field, and you'll either get an error message or have the data cut off at the 255-character point.

    There is an easy [and easily-overlooked] way around this limitation, though: set your field's data type to Memo. Memo fields are much more generous, allowing you up to 65,535 alphanumeric characters.

    Thanks Andy, but I want to do more than sort. With access it is easy to run a query and create a seperate table with just chairs for example. Then I can figure out what to do with it without having to scroll through 30,000 products at one time. My feeble mind can only handle so much. Wish my brain had as much ram as my computer!

    Here I am stuck at work with no access or excel, going to try out your textpad Andy.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    118
    The feed is just as good or bad as the previous one. I use Excel to search and replace various problematic characters and duplicate subcategories. The tab delimited txt file imports into WebMerge like a charm. Trick is to keep a list of every search/replace that you need to make and refer to it if you have to repeat the process.
    [URL=http://www.netmagellan.com/]Net Magellan blog[/URL]

  17. #17
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    291
    I just got and cleaned the new generic feed, went to run it in webmerge and not one of the website urls will work!! What did I do wrong?

  18. #18
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    50
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I just got and cleaned the new generic feed, went to run it in webmerge and not one of the website urls will work!! What did I do wrong?
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Did you replace the "Insert-ID" with your affiliate ID?

  19. #19
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    291
    Of course, I did that first.
    O my, momentary lapse of reason, whatever it was, it works now &lt;sheepishly&gt;

  20. Newsletter Signup

Similar Threads

  1. BettyMills Q4 Datafeed...
    By Victor Hanna in forum BettyMills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2005, 11:04 AM
  2. BettyMills Q4 DataFeed - need help
    By benpeter in forum BettyMills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 30th, 2004, 09:35 AM
  3. New BettyMills Q3 Datafeed !
    By Victor Hanna in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 27th, 2003, 01:36 PM
  4. BettyMills Datafeed is Here!
    By Victor Hanna in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2003, 10:05 AM
  5. BettyMills Datafeed is Here!
    By Victor Hanna in forum BettyMills
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2003, 09:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •