ABW Ambassador
    Why is that it is so hard to detrmine cookie durations with them? My guess is that many of their vendors don't have any duration!

I recently signed up with one vendor and after talking with one of their reps - sure enough, there is no duration and they only pay a 5% commision!

I'm new at this but, I'm already getting real close to yank um all unless they take some steps to correct some of the issues outlined in this board by it's affiliates.

You can check the FAQ sections for each merchant, and sometimes the cookie durations are listed there. My experience has been that if you can't find a cookie duration quickly, then assume the worst, and you'll be correct.

As you gain some experience and volume on your site, you'll probably notice that BeFree merchants just don't convert as well as merchants with the other affiliate programs. On the other hand, we have a couple of them that do very well for us. Just be selective and monitor, monitor, monitor.

we should start a list of merchants and their cookie duration or non-existance of cookie here.

ComputerGeeks - 15 days

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Save your breath and web ink on trying to find BeFree merchants beyond TigerDirect -ComputerGeeks or a few others with more than 1 day cookies. I think the parasites like Gator and ShopNow get 360 day cookies on the automatic feed of specials and nightly coupon offers...they demand those extra cookie days and BeFree refuses to post cookie durations since no smart affiliate would sign up with a one day crap shoot!

Those merchants that run a legit program there to spurr sales, not eyeballs, also pay on time. Now even those like TigerDirect get pissed when BeFree hangs onto the monies they sent 6/5/2002 til after the 22nd...go figure!

[ 06-23-2002: Message edited by: EcomCity.com ]

2 Tom
    Please get the name of Your good merchants from befree.

ABW Ambassador
    This is how bad BeFree is: