Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    expand across the whole freakin page. When I am building product links with descriptions - why does it expand across the whole page. Why can't I get it to just be in a small box of say 3 across or something. You know, like the normal sites have. LOL!! Any tips??

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    um, you mean place them inside a table?

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    758
    Jada, do you use FrontPage 2000?

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    270
    quote:
    , like the normal sites have


    Yup. Tables.

    Actually, once you get right down to it, most pages are nothing but a series of tables anyways.... Like Pete says, if you're getting a spread across the entire page, then you aren't using tables, or have not specified the table construction properly.

    CodeJockey.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    Yes I use tables and yes I use Frontpage 2000. Say I make a table with 3 columns. If I put a product link in one, then it spans across the whole page instead of just in that space for that column. How can I contain it to that column width only??

  6. #6
    pph Expert! Gordon's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    Jada
    Have you specified the width for all three columns? ie
    "* replaces < so it shows up"
    *table width=100%>
    *tr>
    *td width=20%>*/td>
    *td width=60%>*/td>
    *td width=20%>*/td>
    */tr>
    */table>

    also I think if you are leaving a column empty for some reason you have to put or a spacer image in, this will then give you the size you stated.

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    705
    Jada,

    One other thing. The HTML for product links has a table set for 600 pixels. If you leave it set to that and don't change it, the link will stretch across the page depending where you have the table cell located . If the link is inside of a cell within a table then set the product link table width to 100% from 600 pixels and that should make it work fine.

    If you are wanting the product information to display under the product image just place a /tr tr tag after the /td where the product image is located in the code.


    Mike
    (edited to continue rambling) [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

    [ 12-18-2001: Message edited by: Dr. Evil ]

    [ 12-18-2001: Message edited by: Dr. Evil ]

  8. #8
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    Yes all of the product links I've seen have a default width of 600 pixels.

    You have to change that before you add it to your page.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador webmarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,713
    yup, that little default 600 pixel width table setting is annoying. Anyway the merchants tend to have their pics too darned big, too. If I weren't so darned lazy these days, I'd download the pic, optimize it in Photoshop and build my own doggoned link...but that would mean too much time on one page and not making a bunch instead with the links provided.

    Ick, I actually just adjusted the size of one image in a product link by using the width and height attribute rather than actually redo the pic. All that bandwidth for a smaller pic, sheesh.

    Jada, kill the table width setting at 600.

  10. #10
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Jada,

    quote:
    Jada, kill the table width setting at 600.


    And ......

    the cell width inside the table [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

    Haiko

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    Sheeshhhh!!! Okay guys, I'm gonna try this tonight. I hope it works. What a pain in my butt!! LOL!!! I agree, the pictures are way to freakin big. It makes no sense how big they are. :eek:

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador mousejockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,494
    Jada an easy way to do it in FP is to hit the "distribute columns evenly" button,
    after you've resized the image.

  13. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. When deep links (product links) fail...
    By OPMdirect in forum Canadian Affiliates
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 10th, 2009, 01:37 PM
  2. Target Product Links Not Going to Product
    By Tami in forum Google Affiliate Network - GAN
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: February 24th, 2008, 08:10 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 13th, 2004, 10:58 PM
  4. Replies: 29
    Last Post: February 11th, 2003, 10:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •