Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Well, I'm in the UK but I've hardly looked in Airstrip One (and it doesn't seem to get a lot of activity).
    I've been an affiliate marketer for nearly six months and so far I've built sites aimed at the US market.
    I think I might try a UK-specific site.
    Anyone having any luck targeting the UK market specifically?

ABW Ambassador
    I'm also in the UK and realised I've been doing the affiliate thing now for a couple of years.

Like many people I started off by putting a few banners and graphical links on a couple of content sites that I run, but made very little for months.

Then I decided to build a sales site and, if that didn't earn me some cash, to give up on the whole thing.

I'm happy to report that my efforts paid off, but very little of my earnings are from UK traffic.

I put this down to a few things:-

1. There are fewer UK merchants for the products I'm offering.

2. UK merchants tend to offer much smaller commissions.

3. The UK population is obviously significantly smaller then the US.

For all of these reasons I'm gonna carry on targetting the US, even though I get more traffic from Google from UK surfers.

ABW Ambassador
    I live in the US, but I am from England. I believe that the UK merchants just don't have the experience to really have a successful affiliate program, yet
    Most affiliate programs are US based, and most companies that you are going to promote cater to the US market.
    However, the UK market is big enough to make money on. Yes, the market is smaller than the US. However, it is still considerable.

Due to the restrictions placed on Internet access in the UK, ie being way too expensive, not as many shoppers buy online. This limits the opportunities for an affiliate.
    This may have changed, as I have been in the US for almost 3 years.
    I just think that the UK will take longer to realise that the Internet is a great place to shop.

www.cjshoppingnetwork.com

Thanks for the input.