Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    198
    Hi all!

    We're hoping you all can help us out.

    Recently, we've been having a problem with our computer.

    About once or twice a day, 6's will suddenly appear various places on our screen... ie next to the back button, next to the arrow on the Google toolbar...etc.

    When this happens, new windows no longer work... and text on already open windows is larger and not properly aligned.

    If I close all windows and start over, the 6's go away. However, it keeps happening. I have run a virus scan which didn't find anything.

    Does anyone know what this is and what we should do?

    Thanks!

    Anna and Paula [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    256
    Paula;

    Go to House Call
    and run a free scan. They have found viruses for us that couldn't be found by Norton.

  3. #3
    Guest
    You're prolly low on RAM.. happens to me too when I have too many windows open.

    Quiet777

    [ 01-13-2002: Message edited by: Quiet777 ]

  4. #4
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Anna and Paula,

    the "6" which usually replaces the drop down arrow is a sign of lack or resources ... not a virus as T7 said.

    I suggest that you upgrade your ram (crucial) and go through your MSconfig to reallocate resources (from start-up)

    Haiko

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    ÄúsTrálíĺ
    Posts
    1,372
    Totally agree with Haiko on this one.
    Had this happen lots on my system, until I added more ram & shut down all the unnecessary programs.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    198
    quote:
    Originally posted by Quiet777:
    You're prolly low on RAM.. happens to me too when I have too many windows open.

    Quiet777

    [ 01-13-2002: Message edited by: Quiet777 ]




    Thank you, Quiet! That makes perfect sense.
    At any one time we usually have at least five of the following windows open...

    ABestWeb.com
    NetWorkSolutions.com
    Goto Search Suggestions
    eLance.com
    Aol.com
    AIM
    SiteStats.com
    CJ.com
    one or more of our sites

    We're glad that's what's causing the 6's. That's easy to fix!

    WorkerBee... thanks to you too! We ran that scan just in case.

    Anna and Paula [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    198
    Thank you, Haiko and Pete!

    I appreciate you letting me know what we need to do. How do we upgrade our ram?

    We just got this computer at Gateway two months ago. Should it need an upgrade already... or is it possible I'm doing something wrong?

    Thanks so much!

  8. #8
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Anna and Paula,

    Close out CJ ... and you'll see the difference ... (the .jsp sessions eat ram like it's going out of style!)

    Haiko
    PS. If it is that bad (as posted) also look at upgrading your hard drive!

  9. #9
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    Upgrading ram means buying a new ram strip, taking the computer apart and inserting it into your ram slots if you have an open one.

    Otherwise you remove the old ram and insert the new.

    Carefull to unplug computer before you do any of the above.

    Wouldn't want you to glow in the dark!!!!


    It's a simple screwdriver job (not vodka) but it's not for everybody. You might want to take it in and have it done. Of course you'll pay way too much no matter who you bring it to.

    Realistically it's a 5 dollar labor job and the ram depending on the size is usually pretty cheap these days.

    I run two 256 mb strips and have no memory problems any more.

  10. #10
    ABW Veteran Student Heyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    5,482
    Hey that would make a good website for selling crucial ram

    Have pictures and instruction on how to upgrade your ram.

    Only problem is your computer would be off while istalling it. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]

    Would have to make printer friendly instructions and diagrams.

  11. #11
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    If you're running Win 95 or 98 or some such, there's a System Resource meter tucked under Start.. Programs.. Accessories.. System Tools. This will help determine if you're low on memory.

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador erninator's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,054
    I was having similar problems with low resources. When you boot-up certain amounts of memory are set aside for the various programs installed on your computer.

    In my case, a lot of memory was being reserved for Autocad (a biggy). I downloaded FreeMemPro from 3b Software (http://www.3bsoftware.com/). It will automatically free up unused memory at various time intervals that you can set. Or you can free up additional memory resources manually.

  13. #13
    2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    St Clair Shores MI.
    Posts
    17,328
    Anyone who can get mudd or dog poop off their shoes can install a memory strip. Unlike toothpaste or sex it can only go into the slot one way. Now Fred might want to argue that you need a service contract but that's Fred. Just remember is not like gasoline ...you don't consume it or need to replace it every time your machine is turned on. Beyond that I charge for technical support.

    [ 01-14-2002: Message edited by: EcomCity.com ]

  14. #14
    Master of Design AlexBet's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,364
    quote:
    At any one time we usually have at least five of the following windows open...

    ABestWeb.com
    NetWorkSolutions.com
    Goto Search Suggestions
    eLance.com
    Aol.com
    AIM
    SiteStats.com
    CJ.com
    one or more of our sites



    That is not really too much Paula. I would look into the start up programs that start at Windows start up. I am sure you have A LOT of those. Just delete those that you don't need too much from the start up folder.

    Of course I totally agree with the others about upgrading your RAM.

  15. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Need virus help
    By Rhea in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: March 15th, 2005, 07:00 AM
  2. Virus?
    By Cheesehead in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 10th, 2004, 09:13 PM
  3. Virus
    By dete99 in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 10th, 2002, 08:15 PM
  4. New Virus?
    By Packy in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 28th, 2002, 10:02 PM
  5. Another NEW virus
    By Monstrphil in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 11th, 2001, 07:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •