I'm really new to all this - didn't even realize that something like Morpheus existed until I read about it on this forum. Not even sure what it is and its history, other than the obvious - that it's being used to steal sales from publishers.

Considering how little I'm making from my content site, I am considering installing the BHO detector on at least some of my pages (mainly my video reviews and affiliate pages, although I have affiliate ads sprinkled on every page of my site). What are the pros and cons of this? Frankly, on my affiliate pages, I really don't want anyone there if they're going to buy something and I won't get credited for the sale! I mean, why bother having those pages there otherwise? So any insight on this before I start inserting javascript would be greatly appreciated.

quote:
    I really don't want anyone there if they're going to buy something and I won't get credited for the sale! I mean, why bother having those pages there otherwise

Janiss,

Regarding the pros of the detect.js BHO Detector script, you've already answered your own question.

Technically, one of the cons might be that a few people won't be able to access your site --- but as you said, you don't want those people anyway because you won't be credited if they buy anything yet you still have to pay for the traffic they use up.

Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

ABW Ambassador
    Well, technically, there's a bigger con.

The majority of my merchants are NOT affiliated with Morpheus. So someone with Morpheus installed can still make a purchase via my site that I will get paid for -- unless I block their access.

Which is why I haven't placed the detector script on my ecom site -- I don't want to give up more sales to Morpheus by blocking visitors.