I posted the following message at Amazon.com's discussion board and I'm reposting it here also... (substitute "amazon.com" with any merchant)

I'm not an expert on BHO's, however, my understanding is that there are at least two types of BHO scumware methods (possibly more):

1. direct substitution of webmaster's affiliate ID in URL's located on the webmaster's webpage.

2. leave the webmaster's link as-is and only after the user clicks through and arrives at Amazon.com, display a pop-up with a link containing the scumware's affiliate ID with an enticement for the user to click on the link in the pop-up window.

Based on the above, I'm thinking of a possible two-pronged approach that us affiliates can use to fight these scumware methods:

1. Use "redirect" to fight scumware method #1 (to prevent re-writing):

On the webmaster's website use a simple redirect script located on the webmaster's site such that the links on the webmaster's site link to a redirect. The link would include Amazon's ASIN number for the product. Then the redirect script would redirect to amazon.
    For example, on the webaster's site:

/cgi-bin/jump?ASINNUMBER which redirects to the standard amazon.com affiliate URL www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/...ASIN (etc.)

The issue to determine with this method is whether the scumware will re-write the redirect link. Does the scumware only modify HTML or can it also modify a redirect?

2. Use "cookie write-protect" to fight scumware method #2 (to handle the pop-up):