Hello,

I am new to both this community and the whole marketing business but know some of the basics such as getting listed at google and whatnot.

Ok, let's get right to the question. I started a community yesturday and it already has about 8 members. Not bad, but I only have 2 posts, me and another member. What I want to do is increase traffic, increase members, increase recurring visits, and increase some cash flow. Right now, I'm making nothing from my website, I'm actually loosing $85 a year for my vBulletin license.

My site is wide open for the members, and it's not really specific on the topic, it's more or less just a place to go and talk about anything they want to talk about. Problem is, without any regular posters, I have swooped myself into a pit of dispair as I watch yet another community of mine fall into the hands of failure. (I hoped that moved you to want to help me!)

Ok, so, in simple. How do I increase traffic, increase members, increase recurring visits, and increase cash flow all with spending little to no money? If you want to see the website, feel free to see it at http://forums.melchior.us. Any suggestions and comments are also welcome.

Melchior...

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    The only thing I can think of that is almost certain to draw the posts out of people is, unfortunately, also the best flame bait around:

Politics.

I wouldn't suggest Politics if you had a board devoted to any other particular topic, since it tends to drown out all other issues. But you said yours isn't specific as to topic.

I will warn though, that politics IS *major* flame bait! So if you want a flame-free board, pick a different topic even though it'll be more work to get posts.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> How do I increase traffic<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>