I have had a little bit of success in the past with affiliate programs by directly advertising my affiliate links in a few PPC engines.

I finally have had my first site created, boy was I excited, my eyes were gleaming with dollar signs(yeah right ..lol) I wasn't really expecting huge conversion rates because I run a directory site. I am now ranked in Google and I have a #4 ranking on an obscure term that best describes my site. I am able to get a steady flow of traffic from a few PPC's to my directory site but it converts at a fraction of directly advertising my affiliate links.

I do believe that my site has potential, but I think I must be overlooking a lot of things due to inexperience.

I don't think I am allowed to put my url in the post, so I can't show anyone my site, but if anyone has any suggestions, tips or can direct me to a good marketer I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks
    Rob

Hi Rob
    you can put the url in the post, people don't do it often because they are scared someone will steal their ideas - sad but true, it happens, I've had stuff stolen a few times, best to stay anon.
    but as you're just starting out and looking for help and ideas I think you're safe enough - I mean, to be blunt no ones going to copy a site that's not making dollars - so up to you.