Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    hey there
    im just getting into affilating and the person im working with asked me to look into getting a datafeed setup. dunno how though
    im just wondering if anyone can tell me what a datafeed is (i think its an automator that'll setup the pages with the adds and links to the marketer) and a rough overview about how to set one up?

A day without light, is like... night.

ABW Ambassador
    A datafeed is a file from the merchants that contains information about their products. Typically, you'll get the name of product, web link, description of the product in each record in that datafeed.

The data feed in text file format, 1 line per record, can be used to create static html pages through web merge. That's what I'm doing now. You need to at least be able to read html to create the index template in detail template. I use web merge the same was as I would use ms word mail merge.

For example, in the html templates, you indicate where the name of the product appears in the generated web page using the [WM-FIELD] tags.

The datafeed can be in XML format. I am still figuring what to do with my XML data feeds for the moment so I can't help you on this yet. (I'm still very very new to data feeds)

Using a datafeed, you can generate hundreds of web pages in minutes.

Good luck

You can also create custom scripts to do the same thing for you automagically once every (however often the feed is updated). But you really have to be a (nerd, geek, etc) in order to go this way.

/me dons his taped-up BCGs and pocket protector..

Ford Fox-body Owners Club
    http://www.ford-fox.org

HEY!!! You calling me a geek?

The easy part is getting the feed. The hard part is deciding how to use it.

Chris

ps....psanf, welcome to the board

----------------------------
    Scriptsforyoursite.com - Featuring datafeed import scripts for Art.com, Backcountry Store, Coldwater Creek, Mondera.com, TigerDirect and many more.....