I'm running XP Home Edition with sp2. P4 at 2.53 with 512 sdram.

My problem is this...

I open a folder that has maybe 1000 files. When the window opens, the icons next to the files take 3 or 4 seconds to appear. I can only scroll down extremely slowly as the icon appears next to each file. It's very frustrating especially if I wanting to scroll down the page quickly.

Any thoughts?

ABW Ambassador
    I'm no expert - but when that happens to me - it usually means too many things are still running in background that can't be seen - so I totally turn off the computer for about 1 minute and then restart it and it works fine. It's worth a try.

Sounds like more memory will solve your problem.

A workaround, and to test if more memory will fix your problem, is to subdivide the 1000 files into 5-10 folders. Either create 5+ categories that each file can fit into, or if they are all already closely related you can create 5+ alphabetical folders (A-E, F-K, L-O, etc, etc) that each file will go in.

If the delay disappears than it is simply a memory problem. You could either get more memory or keep the above workaround as a permanent fix.

Could also be the memory on the graphics card.

JadaKiss and noname offer great suggestions for testing. I would take it a step further to isolate the problem.

Shut down and leave the computer off for a minute. Restart and don't launch any programs. Ctrl-Alt-Del to see what processes are running.

If you have anything other than system level processes running, end the processes. (This could be virus protection, firewall software, etc.) Then, see if you can open that folder more quickly. If you can, then you definitely need more system memory.

If not, then you may want to look at a graphics card upgrade.

Another way to test for video memory is to open a large (file size) graphic on your computer and then zoom in several steps. If the redraw on the screen is slow...you need a graphics card with more memory.