Hello all,

I've noticed that some datafeeds have the categories and subcategories grouped together in the same column, like a breadcrumb-
    (main > cat > subcat > subcat2) I'm not sure what to do with that. Do you all split the column and make new columns out of that in excell or access or is there a way to do that dynamically? I'm a php novice, but I guess I can use the explode function in php and split the string into an array, but not sure where to go from there. Should I go that way or would it be easier to separate the categories and subcategories into their own columms?

I split it out and use up to 6 levels of categories (which is the most I've seen in a merchant feed). When I process the datafile, I split it out into separate database fields. I use Perl to process the datafeeds, so I couldn't give you any PHP advice.

Every merchant handles categories just a little different. Some are cat>subcat. Some are cat.subcat. Some are cat-subcat. Some are cat::subcat. I bet I've seen 20-30 different ways of doing it.

Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com

ABW Ambassador
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tetsuo13:
    but I guess I can use the explode function in php and split the string into an array<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    This is exactly how I do it.

I use explode also. BTW I limit to call SELECT query one call per page. I usually use JOIN to join the store table, category table, and detail product table together so I can use one call. Somehow, I think it's more convienent to store the whole bread crum and its links in detail product table so that I don't have to join category table...not sure if it's the right way. What do you think?

ABW Ambassador
    By doing it in a single query within the database, my SQL statement searches the query and not the table.