Yup, Sure ... now let me check ... Cagles Mill's Avatar
    I'm new to using datafeeds and just completed building my first Perl based feed. I've searched through many of the datafeed threads and yet although I think the answer has already been posted more than once, it has not been posted in terms I understand.

If the pages are dynamically generated, then the search engines will not pick them up?! So.. you have to convert the pages you want in the search engines into static pages, which can then in turn still point to other dynamic links? Or, you can leave the potential pages as dynamically generated as long as you use a URL redirect to get rid of all the '+', '&' and other such sysmbols in the URL?

What I want to do is to get not just the main page into the search engine, but also each of the main product categories.

Does this all make sense?

"The crowd has no hands." - Soren Kierkegaard

search engines will pick up dynamic pages. just look at the urls in google, theres a ton of them with abc.php?ddd=xxx&fff=9898 or abc.asp?keyword=blah&aaa=blahblah format. The main reson to mask the param's is to get some keywords in the url. Some believe that it help's there position. I've done it both ways and it hard to tell if one way's better than the other, I have some high ranking pages both ways.

if you want to change them instead of using a redirect read up on apache's mod-rewrite

Charlie

"Changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes nothing remains quite the same.
    With all of our running and all of our cunning, If we couldn't laugh, we would
    all go insane." -- Jimmy Buffett

The problem with search engines is not that the contents are dynamically generated. How would they know? The contents are compiled before it's ever served to the visitor.

One parameter in the URL is generally indexed easily by Google. The more parameters in the URL, the more time it takes for them to index.

Just Lurking