New Merchant with questions....
    Hey everyone, I just signed up with SAS yesterday and have launched our affiliate program. I'm relatively new at all this so I had a question for any merchants, or even affiliates, out there who may be able to help.

I set up my account to auto-approve by country. Thus far I've received several affiliates who have signed up, however I've also gotten quite a few affiliates from outside the US, who are in my pending file. Does anyone have experience with affiliates from other countries? I'm just curious how to go about whether or not to approve them. Is it best to visit their website? Do most of their sales occur in the US? I ship products, and do not ship outside the US, so that's why I'm wondering.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Welcome jrogersz34,

We only ship within the US (as well as APO, FPO, etc) as well. We review each affiliate site that applies to our program. If the foreign site is in English and the address ends in a .com, .net, or .info then quite a bit of their traffic will probably be US-based. However, we usually deny any affiliate site that contains foreign language, ends with .fr, .au, etc. or seems to target a non-US audience (with its' content). If you simply cannot decide, you may try contacting the affiliate to simply ask where most of their traffic is targeted (there is a contact button located beside each affiliate on your "Pending Approval" page).

Another option is to add a note to your automatic reply emails. On your "Edit Program Information" page, there is a section to create automatic reply emails that will be sent whenever someone applies to your program, is approved, and/or declined. You can add your shipping restrictions to these emails. You may also note on your "apply" emails that your program probably will not convert very well for the affiliate if the affiliate site does not target US buyers.