Question To Blog or not to Blog

I'm looking to syndicate some content and was wondering about the advantages of putting that content on a blog (for example either Google's Blogger or Bloglines) and syndicating it that way as opposed to putting together my own feed and just having it available directly from my site.

Would being a part of the blogger community be an advantage where linking and syndicating is concerned?

I'm new to this so any advice would be very welcome.

[left][font=Arial]"If you come to a fork in the road, take it" - Yogi Berra [/font][/left]

I'm no expert about this, but here's my understanding ... You may get some advantage, at least in the beginning, from being part of some official network like the one Google runs. However, I think the true strength of a blog in the long run has little to do with those "official" networks.

One of the guiding principles behind blogging is very liberal linking - not only to websites and news stories, but to other blogs. If you link to another blog, for example, they will know this if you use "trackbacking" - which lets the other person know you've written about their blog and linked to them. Who doesn't want to know what someone else is saying about them? They will check you out. If you have something that people like, you can start to develop a name for yourself among other blogs. Google seems to like this ... at least for now. As far as I understand, Google also fairly recently started to frown on reciprocal linking on "websites." How is this different from interlinking with blogs? Well, it isn't. But as of this minute, Google doesn't understand that yet. Google is the Baby King - capricious and demanding and spoiled, yet still with kingly powers. In my opinion, blogs will also lose their power one day, but you might still be able to take advantage of them for the time being.