Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    171
    Is there anyway of displaying a default image for any broken images that might occur, but pointing to an image on the server?

    Is there a server side config to do this, or do I have to do error-checking in my script ?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador FFoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,015
    You could try using a little used feature of HTML image handling:

    <img src='main_img.jpg' lowsrc='default.jpg'>

    Whether this will work or not, I can't say empirically, you will have to test it for yourself.

    If not, use a javascript similar to that used for mouseovers.. Load your default image in the image tag, using name='image1' etc, then if the remote image successfully loads, swap the image.
    “An adventure is an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” - G.K. Chesterton

  3. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Server Side Includes
    By Roland in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 25th, 2005, 11:55 AM
  2. Server Side Include problem
    By dpam in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 16th, 2003, 09:51 AM
  3. Using JavaScript like Server Side Includes?
    By nexus in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: February 25th, 2003, 09:36 PM
  4. Server Side Include Files
    By frankodelic in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 14th, 2003, 12:49 AM
  5. Server side tracking solutions?
    By madmanbc in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 9th, 2002, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •