Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30
  1. #1
    Devil's Reject Electropulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    987
    Thumbs down Ask Jeeves Stealing Adsense Revenue?
    Just noticed that Ask Jeeves frames your site and if there's adsense on it, the greedy f'n butler will replace it with his own...

    in other words not only are they defacing your site with a stock(white and blue) adsense ad, they are replacing it with their own.

    I'm not sure if this has been addressed here or if google knows about this, but I find this very unacceptable and sleazy.

    now we really know that the butler did it!

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Vrindavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 25th, 2003
    Posts
    1,902
    can you show me an example ?

  3. #3
    Not Verif-Lidated infoTim's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,021
    Holy cow...you're absolutely right! That's so wrong. :-(

    Well, Ask.com just earned a place in my referer blacklist file.

    I didn't pick up on this until I realized the color scheme of the framed AS was different than the unframed one.
    Tim
    consultant by day, affiliate by night

  4. #4
    Merchant Linda's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    TN, USA
    Posts
    1,030
    It looks to me like you are sooooo right.

    I went to Ask Jeeves, did a search for one of my site pages that has adsense on it. I clicked thru on the link the search gave me and there was an adsense ad outlined in dark blue with ads about insurance. I have the ads display in green that match my site pages and there is no mention of insurance on my pages for adsense to be displaying insurance ads. I clicked on the "remove preview" link in the Ask Jeeves frame to remove my site from their frame and what do ya know? My page shows like it's supposed to be - green outlined adsense ad - and the ads that now show match the page that they're on.

    So since when did Google Adsense start allowing other sites to change the adsense ads shown on my pages to visitors to my site?

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Whoa. I tried one of my sites without adsense the only site i have with adsense. And am seeing the same thing Electropulse posted. I'm looking at my page with their adsense on it.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,423
    It does not actually change your id. Check the final numbers of any link, they should be the same as your id. What it does do is boof the style sheet and also the content it sees. It seems every page shows insurance ads when you go through them.

    This is bad, but they are not stealing.

    Ask.com just sucks, this is just more proof.

  7. #7
    Prince of Content Vinny O'Hare's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,126
    I get ads for pet urine on my site even though my site has nothing to do with pets. It also looks like they use the default google colors which make my site look real bad.
    Vinny O'Hare - OPM - Contact Info email: vinny at teamloxly.com ~ 702-582-6742 Twitter

  8. #8
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    My site it doesn't change anything did a view source and the id numbers were the same.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    I'm going to contact Google. I'm seeing ads for pet urine too. Since it doesn't match what's on my page, money is being lost all the way around.

  10. #10
    Devil's Reject Electropulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    987
    I'm getting cough surpressing strip ads, not fair to those advertisers...pretty soon they will feel it, seeing this, now I know for sure I will never advertise on googles search network.

  11. #11
    Not Verif-Lidated infoTim's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,021
    Good point, it's not strictly stealing the ad, because my id is still there. But the colors are off and the relevancy is out the window. Instead of the tightly targeted ads that give me good AS revenue, I have generic junk that has nothing to do with the page.
    Tim
    consultant by day, affiliate by night

  12. #12
    Not Verif-Lidated infoTim's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,021
    After a little experimenting, I'm starting to think this is a google bug with AS on framed pages. I would have to build out a framed page to test this, but this is what I see:

    1. use Ask.com to get to page with AS ad, see it's generic and poorly targeted.
    2. click link within framed page to go to another page at the same site.
    3. the AS ad displays properly color-wise, but is targeted at the PREVIOUS page.
    4. repeat step 3, the targeting is for the previous page every time.

    So for example, in step 2, you're viewing a page about widgets. The ad is for dog urine remover. :-)

    You click a link at the site for a page about frobnitzes. The ad is for widgets.

    You click a link at the site for a page about rice pudding. The ad is for frobnitzes.

    My guess is the framing is messing up AS, not the butler doing anything nefarious.
    Tim
    consultant by day, affiliate by night

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    530
    Quote Originally Posted by Electropulse
    I'm getting cough surpressing strip ads, not fair to those advertisers...pretty soon they will feel it, seeing this, now I know for sure I will never advertise on googles search network.
    Don't you mean the content network? The search network doesn't show
    ads on adsense.

  14. #14
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    I beleive Google will suggest to you guys check the box that says this ad will be placed in a frame page when you get the ad code.

  15. #15
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    Since this was moved out of the Midnight cafe here. Don't you think it should of been moved here
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=261

  16. #16
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    (Moved again)

    I can't generate exactly the same fault, but I can confirm that the ID number on the ads appears to be unchanged.
    Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.

  17. #17
    You are in, or you are out ... choose!
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    459
    I haven't had a look at the ask.com results so I don't know the specifics, but the simple solution would be to install a frame buster script on your site/s.

    Woz
    [url=http://www.dWoz.com/][b]dWoz[/b][/url] - serious webmaster tools & resources.

  18. #18
    Full Member SpikeDo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Posts
    438
    Can you post the code to this frame buster script?
    [SIZE=2]
    [B][URL=http://www.readydomains.com][color=blue]ReadyDomains.com[/color][/URL] - Premium domain names for sale. Your new domain is ready!
    [/B][/SIZE]

  19. #19
    Member Azam's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Bloomsbury, London
    Posts
    395
    Simply insert this between your HEAD tags:

    Code:
      <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
    <!--
      if (top != self) { top.location = location; }
    // -->
    </script>
    If you visit the top site here in Ask Jeeves results, you'll see it breaks out of the irritating frame.

  20. #20
    All Around Web Guy Cursal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    829
    Thanks for the code

    That's going on all my sites

    --Brian
    Oregon Publishing: Web Development, Graphic Design, Domains & Marketing
    Deluxe Banners Bartender's Guide Cooking Jobs

  21. #21
    Devil's Reject Electropulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    987
    Quote Originally Posted by Azam.com
    Simply insert this between your HEAD tags:

    Code:
      <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
     <!--
       if (top != self) { top.location = location; }
     // -->
     </script>
    If you visit the top site here in Ask Jeeves results, you'll see it breaks out of the irritating frame.
    yep, this works. thank you!

  22. #22
    Full Member SpikeDo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Posts
    438
    Many thanks Azam.com!

    Note: I tried to pull up my sites using askjeeves.com seacrh engine and it didn't put any ads on my sites. Can someone show me a better example? I want to see what it does.
    [SIZE=2]
    [B][URL=http://www.readydomains.com][color=blue]ReadyDomains.com[/color][/URL] - Premium domain names for sale. Your new domain is ready!
    [/B][/SIZE]

  23. #23
    Prince of Content Vinny O'Hare's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,126
    Spikedo
    I just put readydomains.com in the ask jeeves search box and a few of your listings show up. When you click on one these you will see your homepage and the adsense on your page shows up for cough medicne
    Vinny O'Hare - OPM - Contact Info email: vinny at teamloxly.com ~ 702-582-6742 Twitter

  24. #24
    Full Member SpikeDo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Posts
    438
    Thanks nyfalcon. Now I see what they are doing. I tried it with a few of my affiliate sites before and it didn't do it for them. I wonder why.
    [SIZE=2]
    [B][URL=http://www.readydomains.com][color=blue]ReadyDomains.com[/color][/URL] - Premium domain names for sale. Your new domain is ready!
    [/B][/SIZE]

  25. #25
    Internet Cowboy
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    4,662
    They have apparently quit this practice. I just looked at my sites with Adssense and all was fine.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How can I increase my Adsense Revenue?
    By bob73 in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 18th, 2008, 06:05 AM
  2. Ask Jeeves Stealing Adsense Revenue?
    By Electropulse in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: February 14th, 2005, 12:10 AM
  3. Ask Jeeves Stealing Adsense Revenue?
    By Electropulse in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: February 13th, 2005, 10:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •