Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    Question Help! Affiliate Links not being displayed
    Argggggggg!,
    A few days ago a friend visited my site and reported that he could not see any afiliate links on a particular page. Later we called up the page on another computer and the links read just fine. He was baffled as this was not how the site had appeared on his puter. Just now, my wife and I called her site up on each of our puters and my screen showed all while hers displaed one link with six others were blank spots on her screen. We all had used IE. Can someone give me a clue as to what is up and how many of my customers are seeing blanks instead of lcreatives links?

    Terrie

  2. #2
    Prince of Content Vinny O'Hare's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,126
    sounds like an adblocker is turned on maybe nortons?
    Vinny O'Hare - OPM - Contact Info email: vinny at teamloxly.com ~ 702-582-6742 Twitter

  3. #3
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    Really, Norton might do that?

  4. #4
    Defender of Truth, Justice and the Affiliate Way
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    7,503
    If you have their Security Suite package and ad blocking turned on, yes it can. Does sound like some type of ad blocking software.

  5. #5
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    I just read a few threds addressing my problem. Is there a way around Norton's program of "affiliate genacide?"

  6. #6
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    I checked my wife's puter and Norton ad blocking is not on

  7. #7
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    Question missing links cont'd
    I also wonder why one creative link appeared while all the others were erased?
    Also, on another page of that site every creative link was visable. The visable page were all links from SAS. Could there be a variance between html constuction of a link?
    Last edited by phantomcat; February 16th, 2005 at 09:26 PM. Reason: spelling error

  8. #8
    Prince of Content Vinny O'Hare's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,126
    well lets put it this way, some adblocking software will only block cj links, some might block linkshare ads etc it is up to the ad blocker maker what they consider a domain that is used to serve ads.
    Vinny O'Hare - OPM - Contact Info email: vinny at teamloxly.com ~ 702-582-6742 Twitter

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador qball0213's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,158
    Check your hosts file, if you've had kazaa lite installed, it will block affiliate networks by changing your hosts file.

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    530
    I may be wrong, but I believe with Kazaa Lite that the affiliate links will still show
    on the page, but it will block access to the site after clicking on the link. I know
    Kazaa Lite blocks all Clickbank hoplinks.

  11. #11
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    Upon further review, it seems that CJ is by far the most effected, with Linkshare second and Performics taking some hits. ShareASale seems immune.

  12. #12
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    PS
    I found Norton ad blocker on her puter which seems to 90% the culprit. About 10% of the creative links are still missing.
    So how many puters in this world have "ad blocker" turned on? SIGH!

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579


    Quote Originally Posted by phantomcat
    ShareASale seems immune.
    Hi, phantomcat

    This is the first time I've seen this observation posted on ABestWeb.

    Anybody have any ideas why ShareASale links seem to be immune to
    these adblockers?

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  14. #14
    I like traffic lights
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Southern hemisphere - away from Fukushima
    Posts
    2,936
    Have you checked to see if the machine has a poisoned HOSTS file?

  15. #15
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    Anybody have any ideas why ShareASale links seem to be immune to
    these adblockers?
    Because SAS runs a clean network, they haven't been targeted, it would seem.
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador buy_online's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,234
    Quit now while you're ahead.

    Fred

  17. #17
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    TY Drew, I read your reply at the SAS site. I did a search of hosts* and all it came up with was a microsoft explaiation of how a host file operates. I assume there are no vicious host files present on my puter. I'll check the wif's later.
    Thanks again

  18. #18
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    Radarcat, it is strange but I'm certain it is true. I understand that in a round about way the ad blockers got their foothold from the annoying wave of pop-ups. I agree that SAS runs a clean operation but find it curious that SAS makes pop-ups so easily obtainable when affiliates are obtaining links from them.

  19. #19
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Thumbs down Norton's Program Of "Affiliate Genocide"
    Quote Originally Posted by phantomcat
    I just read a few threds addressing my problem. Is there a way around Norton's program of "affiliate genocide?"
    Affiliate genocide describes it very well, IMHO.

    Put Nort*n out of business ??

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  20. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Overture - Displayed URLs
    By redimp in forum Newbie Affiliate FAQs & Helpful Articles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 14th, 2005, 07:50 PM
  2. Not all products displayed...
    By hillside in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 30th, 2004, 01:18 AM
  3. page cannot be displayed
    By epicadventures in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 13th, 2004, 01:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •