Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am new to the world of affiliate marketing and I am interested in "getting my feet wet" with datafeeds.

As a newbie with absolutely no programming skills whatsoever, I have downloaded the trial version of Webmerge to play around with. (From what I have read elsewhere on this forum, this program seems to be recommended by many as a good starting point for us newbies.)

However, I have also read that we should not just plug in the product data "as is" into our automatically generated pages but we should try to add additional information onto them to make them more "unique".

By doing this, the search engines would be happier and in the eyes of the visitor, the Web pages would be more appealing -- the additional content on the pages (beyond the product info) would give them more perceived value.

Besides going in and manually writing a few extra paragraphs of content on the pages of a few key products, can any of you share on what other techniques (preferably automated) you use to customize individual pages on your Website?

To make these cookie cutter pages appear more unique, I have read about things like "SSI", "RSS feeds" and scripts that can "easily be used" to add related information and products onto the Web pages from sites like Amazon.com

Although those posts said that these things are "easy" to add, they didn't explain what they are or actually say _how_ you would go about doing it!

So I have no idea how I would begin to customize my datafeed pages. It's like being given a destination to go to but with no directions on how to get there!

Can any of you give me any tips on how to do this "page customization" thing with data feeds?

Or point me to the best resources on the Net where I can go to read up on the step by step procedures of how I can add these features to the templates that I create?