New Merchant dilemma
    I found ABW and am interested in learning about affiliates. I’m still learning how this works and have many questions. Hopefully, similar merchants like me will gain from my post. Write below with opinions and assistance, affiliate gurus!

We’re selling online and through resellers. We custom build designer upholstered furniture. Now we are finishing new factory and will be available for increased output of production - $300000/month products in 3 months and around million in one year. Additional output may be sold through affiliates. Now each individual sale averages $1500.

Before the Internet the typical sales channels were advertising in Trade magazines (we are doing to an extent), catalog sales (in the works), trade shows ($50 000 per show – this is in the future) brick/wall stores/boutiques (this is for our resellers for we sell in bulk to them) or sales by representatives. So now affiliates maybe replace most of those channels and be our online sales force.

For discussion:

- Product/Market – both exist. There is huge profit potential, especially online.
    - Competition - many Low End vendors are selling online cheap and low quality products at prices comparable to ours.
    High End – One Gorilla is selling a lot of furniture at prices 3 times higher more than ours... for similar products! Our quality is comparable, craftsmanship is also comparable. This gorilla is selling by several stores, catalogs and by internet using Performics.com as Program Management, and they offer for affiliates 10% discount. Most are selling from inventory ( % of our sales are also inventory sales - but most of our sales are custom orders - other custom furniture companies sell at much higher price than us).
    - Linkshare is not responding. Is it worth it to spend $10k to set-up and 2500/month? What about ROI with Linkshare, do they provide any guarantee anything, high visibility?