Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Thumbs up Yahoo Search Box


    Hi,

    If anyone wants to install a Yahoo Search Box on their web site, here is the link to get the code:

    http://us.geocities.yahoo.com/v/ao/sea.html

    I put a Yahoo Search Box on all the main pages of my web site in order to help Yahoo with a boost in it's endless battle with Google.

    Yahoo returns much more relevant search results than Google, which is extremely important for a tech site like mine.

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    161
    Will I get commish evertyie someone perform a search on that tiny box?

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Lightbulb Yahoo Search Box
    Quote Originally Posted by cowcool
    Will I get commish evertyie someone perform a search on that tiny box?

    Hi, CowCool,

    Not that I know of. It is strictly a feature to help make my site "sticky" and help my visitors have near-instant access to relevant search results.

    Fortunately, the code overhead is low in relation to load-up time.

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    Good thinking Radar, stickiness is key and if your site is impressionable this sort of move can make a difference. I just may do this on my most impressionable website.

    - Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Lightbulb Thank You, Snib !!
    Quote Originally Posted by Snib
    Good thinking Radar, stickiness is key and if your site is impressionable this sort of move can make a difference. I just may do this on my most impressionable website.

    - Scott


    Thank you, Snib,

    I also think it is important to give the "good guys" as boost as the WWW has
    turned into the World Wide War as far as affiliates making an income honestly
    from the Internet.

    I don't know at this point if Altavista, AllTheWeb and Eniro have search boxes but I seem to get good relevant search results from them. I'll have to look into this after I get some sleep. I've been coding all night and the sun is now very bright here in Texas.

    Just curious, how many web sites do you have?

    RadarCar, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    I have 6 total.
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Quote Originally Posted by Snib
    I have 6 total.


    Six !! You must drink a LOT of coffee !!

    I've just started my second web site. Only 38 projected tutorials to go !!

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    What if all of a sudden Google gives you favorable results and Yahoo buries you, gonna keep the box?

  9. #9
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    Right now google is excluding a lot of relavant results. When they stop excluding relavant results, I will again use their little box (which is still on my home page directly below my little yahoo box). I have not stopped using them because they exclude my results - this failure to show my relavant pages is just my own personal proof of what they exclude. Yes, in all honesty there may be a bit of sour grapes, but when it comes to searching for something, I want results. When I optimize a page, I want to optimize if for a search engine that will actually display it so I check out the competition on that particular search engine. Optimizing pages and checking existing results is one of the things I use a search engine for quite a bit.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Quote Originally Posted by TrustNo1
    What if all of a sudden Google gives you favorable results and Yahoo buries you, gonna keep the box?


    Hi, TrustNo1

    No. There will always be a new search box somewhere else.

    I don't think Yahoo is going to a Page Rank Link Popularity algorithm any time soon. They would have to hire a lot of expensive "credentials" to reprogram their whole system. If they do, I'll switch, just like you would. After all, this is just a business.

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Yahoo Desperation - Offering Incentives For Using Yahoo To Search
    By Trust in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 26th, 2008, 12:51 PM
  2. Will adding a Yahoo/Google search box to website help SEO?
    By GoColts in forum Newbie Affiliate FAQs & Helpful Articles
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2008, 03:43 PM
  3. MSN Search Box - Search Your Own Site Box
    By Trust in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 16th, 2005, 07:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •