Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    Cool help with script
    ok, I'm an absolute newbie - only just started looking at this today, and perhaps I shouldn't be asking right now - I've been working 16 hours <G> - perhaps the answer would come to me tomorrow!!!!!!!! Anyway....

    I want to insert a script for a grid like the sample at http://www.c3scripts.com/cgi-bin/ae....=c:2,r:3,v,n,b

    I have done the grid fine (test page at http://www.thedogscene.co.uk/books/breeding.htm) however, the links go straight to Amazon and I would like them to go to a page as per your example (on my site with a sub link to Amazon.com)

    I';d like it as a script as it will eventually be in an editorial page

    Please ease my dumb blonde brain and tell me how this is done!!!!

    Jill

  2. #2
    Plazan Merchant Neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 25th, 2005
    Location
    cyprus
    Posts
    1,764
    not me sorry,,
    but someone will come along,
    soon
    welcome
    Find us at shareasale.com 12% commission
    Shareasale Merchant 7191
    PLAZAN SKIN CARE As seen on TV . Used by Jennifer Lopez

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    To get product details to be shown locally using AE, edit your ae.ini configuration file and set asinsearch.format to "details6" or any of the other details format templates. See http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/docs8.html#asinsearch.*

    You will also need to create a page template so that the overall look of the results page matches the look of your website. See: "Creating a Page Template to Match Your Site" at http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/docs12.html#match

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    thank you.

    I've just had a chance to start setting it up but find that whilst the author link stays local the book link still goes to Amazon.

    Is there something else that I've missed? What is nosim (as in ref=nosim)?

    Jill

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Edit your ae.ini file and set the asinsearch.format configuration variable to "details6"

    The ae-040531.zip file contains a directory called "ae-format" (it contains the details6.html file as well as some other .html files). You must upload that directory to your web server. Put it in your cgi-bin/aeuk directory so that you end up with the details6.html file at cgi-bin/aeuk/ae-format/details6.html

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    ref=nosim in links:

    Use the refNoSim configuration variable to indicate whether you want "ref=nosim" added to links. yes=add "ref=nosim" to links; no=don't add "ref=nosim" to links. With "ref=nosim", links jump directly to amazon.com's product details pages; without "ref=nosim", links jump to a page at amazon.com that displays similar products.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    [The ae-040531.zip file contains a directory called "ae-format" (it contains the details6.html file as well as some other .html files). You must upload that directory to your web server. Put it in your cgi-bin/aeuk directory so that you end up with the details6.html file at cgi-bin/aeuk/ae-format/details6.html]

    Thank you but I had uploaded that directory to the server at the very beginning so it was already there, so I'm afraid that is not the problem. Something else must be stopping it.

    Jill

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Edit ae.ini and change:

    script "shop"

    to:

    script "ae"

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    THANK YOU! that did the trick :-)

    Gosh, you're working late!

    Thanks again
    Jill

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Featured: Datafeed to SQL script? Not price comparison script
    By oxplode in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: June 26th, 2014, 02:27 PM
  2. Need Programmer for FTP script, datafeed import script
    By markwelch in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 20th, 2007, 02:16 PM
  3. Need Programmer for FTP script, datafeed import script
    By markwelch in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 5th, 2007, 04:24 PM
  4. found that gator cookie script and spyware script
    By Roland in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 29th, 2002, 08:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •