Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    Exclamation WHAT is going on???????
    In IE I enter my home page as http://mypage.com and I get a blank page and I notice that a page called http://url-exchange is called up momentarily. If I enter http://www.mypage.com there is no problem.

    If I use Netscape's browser, I have no problem at all.
    I have just about had it
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  2. #2
    Member Vampyre's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    114
    It could be Spyware. I had that problem a few months ago. In IE, I'd enter domainname.com and it would come up with some search page, if I'd enter www.domainname.com, the domain would come up just fine.

    After I ran Microsoft Anti-Spyware, the problem stopped.

  3. #3
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    when I go to mypage.com in IE i do not get any blank page it laods for me

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheesehead
    In IE I enter my home page as http://mypage.com and I get a blank page and I notice that a page called http://url-exchange is called up momentarily. If I enter http://www.mypage.com there is no problem.

    If I use Netscape's browser, I have no problem at all.
    I have just about had it


    Hi, Cheesehead,

    Scumware and AdWhores will always be with us but that doesn't mean that you have to use the Internet Exploder browser.

    Opera and FireFox also make fine browsers for Windows. Try them, you will really like them. Opera 6.04 works particularly well on Windows 95 as does FireFox 0.9 on Windows 98. There is a quickness and crispness to these two browsers that you won't find with any version of Exploder or Navigator that I have ever used.

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://www.os2warplinks.com

  5. #5
    Outsourced Program Manager tmartini's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    528
    Hey Cheesehead,

    I'm assuming that http://mypage.com is not your actual domain name, just an example. If you PM the actual domain to me I'll take a look. The first thing to look at (even before checking for Spyware) is the DNS record for your domain at your hosting company. Not all hosting companies specify both mypage.com and www.mypage.com in the DNS record. They should, but they don't. Anyway the problem could be that the DNS record hasn't been setup correctly, in which case you contact your hosting company and ask them to fix it.

    I'm not exactly sure why it's not a problem in Netscape, but I figure Netscape is determining that there is no site at mypage.com, so it's redirecting you to www.mypage.com. As for just ignoring it and getting a different browser for yourself, that won't help the 85% of the people that use IE when they try to access your site without the www . I'm not crazy about IE, but until it stops being the dominant browser, you can't ignore it.

    Take care.

    -- Todd
    Todd Martini
    Digital Marketing Manager
    Jones Soda Co.
    Follow Me on Twitter

  6. #6
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    tmartini, I just sent you a PM.
    I went over to my Father-in-law's place just now and tried in his IE browser and it loaded fine. Tried again at home and the same problem.

    I am suspecting a problem with my browser.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  7. #7
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    Scumware and AdWhores will always be with us but that doesn't mean that you have to use the Internet Exploder browser.
    RadarCat, don't blame it all on the use of I.E.

    I use Internet Explorer 100% of the time because I have never had any mayor problem with it yet and also because most of my visitors use Internet Explorer, so by me using Internet Explorer I will see the pages I made, the same way that most of my visitors will see it.

    I won't argue that there may be better browsers than Internet Explorer out there but, other than the stupid ActiveX Prompt that I get on some sites because I have my security settings to prohibit running ActiveX controls in order to avoid any unsuspecting surprise, I still don't have any other issue with my Internet Explorer.

    Sal.

  8. #8
    Crazy like a fox suzigeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,096
    I suspect it is spyware. Because your not having the problem with Netscape because there is no spyware written for netscape...cuz no one uses it. My inlaws ie was totally infected and did the same thing except it would redirect to a search page.

    Try running microsofts new anti spyware and see if that doesn't clean it up.
    Suz~~GearGirl~~

  9. #9
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    Yes, I suspect spyware. I have my IE homepage set to a specific info page off my domain. I suspect the spyware is trying to block that domain. The cable guy set up the internet to open in IE (cause he didn't know how to set it up in any other browser). I just use IE to open the internet - then I use Netscape. I also use the IE browser with tool bar to check page rank and other not-so nifty tool bar features.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  10. #10
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    The Source Code
    It finally dawned on my to look at the source code of the blank page. I get

    <html>

    <iframe src='http://bddesignusa.com/images/flame.php' width=1 height=1></iframe>
    <iframe src='http://url-exchange.net' width=1 height=1></iframe>

    </html>


    Can somebody explain what may have happened? I have run 2 types of spyware removal and still the problem remains.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    March 18th, 2005
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    26
    Have you just tried resetting your homepage via the tools button then internet options in the ie. ? Then go delete any cookies, temp files, and such. If you still have a problem let me know what version of windows you are running and I will see what I can do to help walk you through the problem. My players encounter this alot and it is usually from clickitus as I like to call it.
    Dreamie

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,053
    Could it be that the host is pulling some fancy footwork there? There have been hosts known to do some stuff that isn't quite what we'd expect. There was one caught a couple of weeks ago cloaking all the hosted sites with links.

    What if you try putting a 301 redirect in .htaccess from example.com to www.example.com?

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    March 18th, 2005
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    26
    or it could be something like a hijacker which is why it keeps taking him to iframe. Instead of his homepage. If he can access the site by manually typing in the site addy then he has what is called a hijacker and he will have to reset his homepage and clean out his folders and check out any extra programs that may be listed in his add/remove page in his computer. lol
    Dreamie

  14. #14
    More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Land of The NFL Champs!
    Posts
    2,942
    Finally OK
    I had done a scan with new MS antispyware a few days ago but did not republish after. Today I republished and the bug is gone. I am not quite sure why.

    I was pleased to see that the MS antispyware, unlike Lavasoft and others, did not target tracking cookies!
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

  15. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •