which language to learn?
    So, I've got some c++ knowledge (computer science student, end of 2nd year) and I want to learn a language to help me manage and grow my websites. I am currently considering Perl or or PHP. I want to do stuff like write (or modify) forum scripts, comment scripts, content management scripts, site search, search engine, and e-cards scripts. I would also like to write a program kind of like a scraper program (but of course I would NOT be using it like those junk scraper sites) that I assume would be an actual executable and not a script.

What language(s) would you suggest?

PHP is the rising star, especially with version 5. 5 Is very well suited for OOP. That version is just not deployed much yet because PHP 4 writers assumed things that break in 5. My second choice would be Python; as there are some interesting things done with it, and I think it's OOP design is a little purer. Python is probably better for programming in the large, if you start working with teams.

Why not learn both PHP and Perl? PHP is great for web development, and Perl is great for the back end portions of a site (scraping, datafeed processing, and those types of things).
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

I'm with Michael on this one. PHP is great for the front end processing and perl is much faster for data crunching. I really should do more perl myself, but I've gotten lazy - PHP is just too fun and easy!

- Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.