Portland, OR
    New merchant pricing
    Hey everyone, I'm firing up an online store and I'm brand new to the web retailing business. I'm planing to start and affiliate program but I have a question about pricing as it relates to affiliate conversion rates and commissions. Here's the deal...

For my products, there are some large online retailers already established in the market. For certain products, they are pricing their merchandise just barely above what I can get it at wholesale.

This presents me with a pricing issue if I intend to give a percentage to an affiliate and a percentage to myself. Even at a low percentage, say 5% for affiliates and 5% for me, certain products would have to be priced above what my competitors are charging.

So, my first question is this: If a merchant has slightly higher prices than some of it's competitors, how does that effect your conversion rate as an affiliate? And does that factor into whether you will pick up their program or not?

Second, as you can see in my 5% example, if I want to be more competitive as a merchant in the affiliate arena by having good commission rates, the price I'll have to charge for products will be directly related to the percentage I give affiliates. Do any of you have any experience with merchants who have been in this same thin margin situation? And what percentage did you and the merchant agree upon as the best mix of affiliate/merchant/markup combination?

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

Internet Cowboy
    Welcome to ABW. The big guys buying containers and retailing at your wholesale cost is something you can't control.
    Price your products as low as you can and still make a profit to stay in business and pay an affiliate commssion.
    Provide the customer with outstanding service.
    Provide your affiliates with reasons to promote you like:

• An extended cookie duration
    • Sales tracking of phone sales
    • No parasites in the program
    • Free data feeds