Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    $ and % in WebMerge..
    Have you fixed the fact that WebMerge does not support $ or % signs yet..??
    I have a problem with the IF tag handling $ and % it doesn't handle them correctly..

    Is that fixed in the new version...???
    It seems that it would be pretty important since the feeds contain prices..
    just wondering.......

  2. #2
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    I don't believe I've recieved a report on this before. What is the nature of the problem?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Question
    Well the problem is that WebMerge doesn't process $ or % correctly...

    Here is the Problem::

    My Datafeed contains prices $15.00 and so on... (AS MOST DO)

    I have this IF STATEMENT In The Template..

    [WM-If: Field: _RETAIL_PRICE_ > $50.00]

    It doesn't work... it either shows everything or nothing...

    I also tried it like this with a percentage...
    [WM-If: Field: PERCENT > 50%]

    It doesn't work... it either shows everything or nothing...


    It sucks because I want to show some items on my CATEGORY pages from "THAT" category... but I can only show ALL of them.. or NONE...

    what I really want to do is only show the items that are at least 50% off
    but there is no way to do it.. because the prices contain $ signs - and the percent off contains % signs...

    I have tried both of the above IF STATEMENTS in every possible way...
    but it will not show the records correctly...

    I would think that a DOLLAR SIGN would be the first thing that would need to be fixed since the datafeeds contain PRICES..

    And Yes you should know about this - I e-mailed you regarding the dollar signs when I first bought the program over six months ago.. I was told that there would possibly be a fix for this in version 2.4...
    That is why I was asking if it was fixed YET...

  4. #4
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks for the report. The problem is that neither "%" nor "$" are numeric characters, yet they're being asked to be evaluated numerically.

    There are several dozen monetary characters, and some come before and some after the text.

    Rather than guess whether these should be treated numerically or not, I'm inclined to consider an option one could add to a tag to note that it should be treated numercially even when it contains such non-numeric characters.

    What should that syntax look like?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  5. #5
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Here's one solution for handling this request:

    WebMerge currently supports date comparisons in the WM-If tag like this:

    [WM-If Field: BirthDate >:date 11/22/63]

    So if we were to be consistent with specifying the data type with the comparison operator, we could add a new specifier for US$ like this:

    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $50]

    Because formatting varies so broadly from nation to nation, I'm inclined to provide a ":US$" specifier for v2.4.1 and add support for the Euro and Yen in v2.5.

    Would that work for you?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    As long as it is processed correctly using the $ or % --- it doesn't matter to me what it looks like.. I just want to be able to show a smaller amount of data than -"EVERYTHING in THAT CATEGORY" it makes for a huge page..

    I just wish it could show only a certain amount of records..
    Isn't there a way you could add something like [WM-INDEXLABEL: FIELDNAME 10records]

    To only process ten records in that FIELDNAME..??
    That would make it easier for us to show a certain amount of products on the navigation pages for that category or subcategory...

    You have this in the main MENU "TEST MODE - ONLY PROCESS ?? RECORDS"
    So I don't understand why you wouldn't be able to do this in a TEMPLATE..
    IT WOULD MAKE IT EASIER.. and we could select an even or odd number of records depending on what we wanted the pages or tables to look like..

    Just a THOUGHT.....

  7. #7
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by SuZe
    As long as it is processed correctly using the $ or % --- it doesn't matter to me what it looks like..
    The WM-If command has been extended to allow you to specify types for "US$" and "Percent", e.g.:

    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $50]
    [WM-If Field: Discount >:Percent 50%]

    A test version with this enhancement has been uploaded for you to review:
    http://www.fourthworld.com/products/webmerge/test241/

    This is the application only -- you'll want to copy it to your current WebMerge program folder to run it.

    If things go well I may be able to make a final release of v2.4.1 this week. Thanks in advance for your help testing this addition.

    Also in this build is a fix for multiple replace criteria in WM-IF tags. If you've been having any issues with those chances are they're fixed now. Please let me know if you find any other anomalies.

    Quote Originally Posted by SuZe
    I just want to be able to show a smaller amount of data than -"EVERYTHING in THAT CATEGORY" it makes for a huge page..

    I just wish it could show only a certain amount of records..
    Isn't there a way you could add something like [WM-INDEXLABEL: FIELDNAME 10records]
    You can currently specify page breaks for index pages by any number of records.

    If the question is how to combine the options of making a new index page when the contents of a field changes AND when a specified number of records is written, I'm working on that now.

    This particular task is best done in the interface rather than in the template because it governs a wide range of factors which are used througout many aspects of the generation, including keeping track of table cells, updating the ranges for the WM-CurrentRangeStart, WM-CurrentRangeEnd, and WM-IndexRecordNumber values, and more.

    The enhanced page break flexibility I'm working on for combining field content criteria with a maximum number of records per page will be in v2.5, which will be another free upgrade for registered users like yourself.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Thumbs up
    Richard,
    COOL..

    I will try it out and post the results here! THANK YOU...

    BUT regarding the number of records:

    I do not need a pagebreak after a certain number of records.

    I need the abilty to show only a certain amount of records
    for each subcategory.

    For Example
    If I have Categories like this
    WIDGETS
    BRICKS
    BOLTS

    and subcategories like this

    BLUE WIDGETS
    RED WIDGETS

    GREEN BRICKS
    RED BRICKS

    BIG BOLTS
    SMALL BOLTS

    so when they click on WIDGETS it takes them to a page that has the SubCategory menu -- BLUE WIDGETS and RED WIDGETS

    On that subcategory menu page it would be nice to be able to only show ten or so items in that main category.

    Does that make sense?

    If you have a three tiered site - this makes it one click less if they see the item that they want on that subcategory menu page. it Also allows for some quality filler for the subcategory menu pages.

    And it could be used to make all kinds of little fillers "SALE ITEMS" for sidebars and stuff.

    Something like this:

    [WM-RECORD 10RECORDS][WM-If: Field: _RETAIL_PRICE_ > Field: _SALE_PRICE_] [/WM-If][/WM-RECORD]



    Now I do not know if something like this is possible. But it would be nice to be able to create some smaller tables of records here and there across the site.

    But THANK YOU for responding so quickly
    Very Much APPRECIATED..!!!

  9. #9
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    The WM-If command has been extended to allow you to specify types for "US$" and "Percent", e.g.:
    Might as well go for the gold and get GBP and EUR, too. There are lots of merchants who deal internationally. Personally I usually end up whacking that data from my feeds since I don't show prices...but people who do show them, and deal with merchants who ship internationally, would probably like to be able to sort using the relevant currency symbol.
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

  10. #10
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by SuZe
    Richard,
    COOL..

    I will try it out and post the results here! THANK YOU...
    Better would be to drop me an email with your results. I get email more frequently than I check here, and if there's a problem you can include your files (a zipped archive with your settings file, templates, and a <2mb portion of your feed) so I can get the same result you got.

    Thanks in advance.

    I'm pondering your request on limiting the number of records and will see what I can do....
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Richard - nope it is not working..

    BUT FIRST before we get into sending stuff via e-mail..
    is there smething I am doing wrong with the files?

    I put those files in my WEBMERGE folder is that all I had to do?
    What was I supposed to do with "4W_WebMerge.app.sit"
    does that go in the same folder?

    THANKS

  12. #12
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by SuZe
    is there smething I am doing wrong with the files?

    I put those files in my WEBMERGE folder is that all I had to do?
    What was I supposed to do with "4W_WebMerge.app.sit"
    does that go in the same folder?
    The file "4W_WebMerge.app.sit" is a Stuffit-compressed copy of the WebMerge application. The file "4W_WebMerge.exe" is the uncompressed app for Windows.

    So if you're using Windows, all you need to do is put 4W_WebMerge.exe into your 4W WebMerge program folder where the old one is now. (Same with the OS X version, except that you'll need to unstuff it first.)

    If you're used to running WebMerge from the Start menu, remember that the shortcut there only points to the old one, so to run it you'll want to double-click the .exe file itself. You can always double-check which version you're using by choosing Help->About WebMerge -- the version number is shown in the About box.

    I'll do some more testing here to see what I can turn up...
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  13. #13
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks again for testing, SuZe. I found some issues with the evaluation code, and went on to rewrite major portions of it so it now works with multiple criteria.

    The new builds have been posted to the URL given above.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  14. #14
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by Leader
    Might as well go for the gold and get GBP and EUR, too. There are lots of merchants who deal internationally.
    Agreed. I'll do some research on the Euro to make sure that one common format is used throughout all countries that use that currency.

    But as for GBP, I thought the UK moved over to the Euro, no?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  15. #15
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by SuZe
    I do not need a pagebreak after a certain number of records.

    I need the abilty to show only a certain amount of records
    for each subcategory.
    ...
    On that subcategory menu page it would be nice to be able to only show ten or so items in that main category.

    Does that make sense?

    If you have a three tiered site - this makes it one click less if they see the item that they want on that subcategory menu page. it Also allows for some quality filler for the subcategory menu pages.
    What happens to the other items in the category or subcategory beyond the 10 being displayed?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Cool
    I will e-mail you an example...
    of what I am talking about

    You'll see they VALUE in it better this way...

  17. #17
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks, SuZe.

    A few too many other Sue names around here, eh?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Yep and then some...

    I just sent you an explaination of what I am talking about along with examples from my site..

    I hope this helps you see what I am talking about a little better.
    It's hard to explain on the board without examples!

    BUT I believe that once you see it you will agree this would ADD a lot more value to webmerge for people using it the way I am.

    THANK YOU


    I will try the new fix on the links above and let you know if it worked!

  19. #19
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Richard - That e-mail just bounced back to me?

    I sent it via - webmerge@fourthworld.net

    You got another e-mail I could send it to..?

  20. #20
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  21. #21
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    OK I just sent it again.. to the new addy

    THANKS

  22. #22
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Got it -- thanks.

    I'll take a look and see what I can do....
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  23. #23
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Richard,

    The [WM-If Field: Discount >:Percent 50%] Worked GREAT..
    It didn't seem to print any records below 50% off!!!


    BUT the [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $50] still does not work correctly
    I tried it like this:

    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $10]
    and like this
    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $10.00]

    Niether one worked correctly it printed all items.

    I am only trying to show records according to that criteria
    The column in the CSV database is "CURRENCY"

    I did work around it using another identical column but changing it to "GENERAL TEXT" instead of currency.. it does work if you do it that way.



    By the way I noticed the program didn't deposit any money in my bank account..??
    Can you fix it so it can do that for me..??

  24. #24
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by AddHandler
    Richard,

    The [WM-If Field: Discount >:Percent 50%] Worked GREAT..
    It didn't seem to print any records below 50% off!!!


    BUT the [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $50] still does not work correctly
    I tried it like this:

    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $10]
    and like this
    [WM-If Field: Price >:US$ $10.00]

    Niether one worked correctly it printed all items.

    I am only trying to show records according to that criteria
    The column in the CSV database is "CURRENCY"

    I did work around it using another identical column but changing it to "GENERAL TEXT" instead of currency.. it does work if you do it that way.
    Double-check the raw data in the feed. WebMerge has no "GENERAL TEXT" option, so I'm assuming you're talking about the export from a spreadsheet, yes? Sometimes spreadsheets do weird things -- I'd be interested in seeing the difference in the raw data for that field under both export modes.


    Quote Originally Posted by AddHandler
    By the way I noticed the program didn't deposit any money in my bank account..??
    Can you fix it so it can do that for me..??
    Oh, you don't want me to write that feature. When that feature gets finished I'm off to a private Tahitian island and then what will you do for new WebMege upgrades?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  25. #25
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Richard the "GENERAL TEXT " I was referring to is just a regular field in Excel - CSV Format.

    The PRICE FIELD is a currency field.
    Would this make a difference?

    Should I just add a $ sign before the actual price $15.00
    Or select the entire column and choose CURRENCY
    Would WebMerge process this differently?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. To Webmerge or not to webmerge, that is the question.
    By martyogelvie in forum Marketing Resources & Power Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 12th, 2004, 10:55 PM
  2. Uses of WebMerge
    By Grape in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 31st, 2003, 05:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •