Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    HELP!!! I don't know what has happened!
    I use Front Page and have never had this problem before.

    I use relative links and somehow FP is changing the links to some directrories and not others to all lower case. This is not consistant throughout the site and I just don't know what is causing it.

    Cripes! it is ruining the site!

    HELP!!!! PLEASE!!!
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  2. #2
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    I'm SO MAD!!!! I called Microsoft and they don't support FP 98 and won't help!!!!

    Anyone have any ideas what could have caused this????
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  3. #3
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    The only time that I saw that problem was because I forgot that I had this [ p.lowercase {text-transform: lowercase} ] on my css and it messed up some landing pages, but I fund it before I uploaded the pages.

  4. #4
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    Yeah, but I use SSI instead of css.

    Thanks for the thought. Is there anyway the host needs to add something like that to some file or something?
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  5. #5
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    I don't know if this will help you but........

    I have some pages that I made long time ago with names in the URL like this:

    Example:

    Product-Detail-Page.html

    And then after a while I noticed that some people try to go to that page by typing product-detail- page.html directly in their browsers, which caused a 404 page and I get an email about it.

    Even some search engines would give me a lot of 404's because of that Lower-Case, Upper-Case, Capitalize difference in the URL's, so I asked my host for help and they told me to include this on my .htaccess file.

    CheckSpelling on

    After I did that, I no longer have any problem with the way the people type my URL's, they all get to the right page, sometimes even if they type product-Detail-pages.htm


    On my .htaccess file, the first thing I got there is CheckSpelling on
    And I no longer have any problems with the way most of the URL's are typed by my visitors.

  6. #6
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    Very Important
    I almost forgot to say this:

    That will help my visitors find my pages on my site but, if I send my visitors to merchant X with the URL Product.html and the merchant have the page URL as product.html, unless they have a fix on their Lower-Case, Upper-Case, Capitalize spelling on their site, my visitors may get a 404 on the merchant site and I may lose a sale.

  7. #7
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    No. It doesn't have anything to do with people typing into the browser.

    I have directories named like this Site.com/This_Category/This_Page.shtml

    But, when you click on a relative link to that page you are taken to a 404 page like this

    Site.com/this_category/This_Page.shtml


    And the thing is, there seems to be no rhyme or reason because it does it on some pages and links to those pages but not others.

    Thank you for trying to help. I appreciate it.
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    579


    A simple text editor works fine for me. As least I know ahead of time that every thing will work just right on my simple modular site.

    I've tried WYSIWYGs but never found them to be worth their instability and long quirky learning curves. We all have our druthers.

    Best,

    RadarCat, Webmaster
    http://os2warplinks.com

  9. #9
    Crazy like a fox suzigeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,096
    I ran into something like this a few years back. I was developing sites between my laptop and my desktop computer and for some reason my desktop was saving files and capitalizing the first letter of each word...or was it my laptop??

    Anyway I could never figure out how to stop the darn thing from formatting my file names. The crazy thing was that they didn't show as capitalized until after they were uploaded onto a different server or opened on a different computer. It had nothing to do with the programs I was using becuase I would use a few. I always uploaded and then checked the names via ftp and then changed them.

    The operating systems I was using were windows 2000 and 98...I don't know if that helps any but maybe its not Frontpage but your computer and its only doing it to files you have modified.
    Suz~~GearGirl~~

  10. #10
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    Yeah, I am really used to FP, now.

    I am afraid I will have to hook up another computer and buy a new copy of FP.
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  11. #11
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Talking
    Quote Originally Posted by SSanf
    Yeah, I am really used to FP, now.

    I am afraid I will have to hook up another computer and buy a new copy of FP.

    Hi SSanf,

    I use FP 2003. I have used FP 98, FP 2000, and now FP 2003.

    FP 2003 has a lot of new features added that the other two did not have.


    I think that you will like it.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    145
    i've had some really unusual quirks with copies of frontpage, and with fp extensions as well...

    i basically now only use frontpage for creating a framework for the site template, and sticking the site into dreamweaver for the heavy lifting.

    there are a lot of quirks, especially with older versions of frontpage, where it wants to re-write any code which it didn't place there itself, and this seems to be one of those instances.

    later versions of frontpage seem to work a little bit more reliably, but i still don't trust frontpage completely.

    fp03 does have a lot of nice features, especially when it comes to trying to design a layout table, including being able to design rounded edges, and dropped shadows for the layout tables.

  13. #13
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    Sounds good. The menion of computer geek is supposed to come next week and run cables so I can network with the 5 month old still in the sealed box new computer.

    Cripes, I resist change, don't I?
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 4th, 2005
    Posts
    22
    If you host your website on a Unix server it is case sensitive.

    For example, if you titled your web page Index.html and reference that page as index.html in your HTML code then the server sees this as two different files and cannot find it.

    It's actually good practive to code your web pages in all lower case letters.

  15. #15
    Super Sh!t Stirrer SSanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9,944
    Somehow, I think it was an issue with my old computer. I have installed FP on this new one and so far, so good. It is all very strange and mysterious to me.
    Comments are opinion unless otherwise noted. Remember, pillage first. Then burn. Half of all people in the world have IQs under 100. You best learn to trust ol' SSanf!

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,350
    Years ago I had a host where I couldn't use uppercase, so I just got into the habit of only using lowercase in my links.

  17. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. What happened?
    By speda1 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: October 16th, 2007, 06:23 PM
  2. Whatever happened to TK?
    By snoopy in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 1st, 2002, 06:46 PM
  3. What happened here?
    By WorkerBee in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 26th, 2002, 07:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •