Is it time to Publicly OUT affiliates?
    I am really getting sick and tired of affiliates that are using Metrics Direct to advertise through the Zango/180 parasite program.

Is it Time?

Poopie

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Thumbs up
    I've been crying loudly for a ABW "Hall of Shame" for 2 years now. At one time Haiko succumbed to this cry and said he'd allow proven outings, but never produced a page view heaven of a forum section for this purpose.
    Webmaster's... Mike and Charlie

"What have you done today to put real value into a referral click...from a shoppers viewpoint!"

15 years and counting
    I think ABW should have some kind of filter before outing rogue affiliates. Yes, we need a hall of shame for the tricksters with public exposure but it means more work and liabilities for somebody.

Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    If they advertise and land on their own site, out them. I have outed a few with videos like this posted here at ABW and privately, I'm outing more than a dozen each week in private emails to merchants I know.

If they advertise and land on their merchant's site, you can see their aff id, but that's usually all you can learn about them. Still, out these to their merchants.

company start kicking them out
    credit to jcoronella

"The LA Times is putting pressure on big companies that are advertising on adware companies and encouraging 'sneaky tactics'. Mercedes-Benz, Travelocity, Chase, Disney, Home Depot are all named in the article, with many of them contacted and questioned about it.

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-f...or9may09.story

After The Times asked about the practices of Exact Advertising and 180Solutions, Commission Junction said it was going to stop doing business with both. "

==========================