Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 22nd, 2005
    Posts
    31
    DYSE Formating
    I have been changing formats of the DYSE support script templates. One thing I would like to do is format many of the calls i.e.:
    cat.kids
    cat.items

    Now maybe this already possible and I am just missing something or blind
    It seems they are formatted out of view.pl and no matter what CSS call I apply to them I am stuck with font sizes that are outputted from the script. Is there any plans to put all formatting in separate files so we can apply whatever attribute we want.

    For instance in the call <!--item.desc--> it has the word Specifications: with html tag "H2". Now maybe that is defined in the data feed and if so we have no control at all.

    In any event, just wondering if we can more control over "tags"

    Thanks

    Michael

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    DySE view.pl does not use a formatting library (like in Associate Engine). Via the templates, you can format the general layout of the pages.

    The <!--item.desc--> field is copied directly from the datafeed, so if the merchant put HTML into that field, then that HTML appears. If you use <!--item.desc*--> (notice the * modifier) then you can get the description with all HTML tags removed, but you will get one big paragraph without any paragraph breaks.

    Also, you should be able to use CSS to redefine the appearance of H2 tags. For example:

    <STYLE TYPE="text/css"><!--
    H2 { font-family: Verdana; font-size: x-small }
    --></STYLE>

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 22nd, 2005
    Posts
    31
    Thanks David,

    That has been what I have been playing with "CSS", with some success. So much fun pulling the source to see how they "tagged" everything.

    Thanks for heads up on the "modifier"

    Michael

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    In the next version of DySE::InstrumentPro, I'll have make.pl change:

    <H2>...text...</H2>

    to:

    <P><B>...text...</B></P>

    That's what it already does for <H1>...</H1>.

    Or perhaps I'll have make.pl change it to:

    <P CLASS="heading"><B>...text...</B></P>

    and you define "heading" in CSS.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 22nd, 2005
    Posts
    31
    Use of "Class would be great, much easier for use of CSS.

    Thanks David

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Ok. Since the datafeed contains <H1> and <H2>, I'll use CLASS="heading1" and CLASS="heading2" respectively. And just in case, I'll also make it check for <H3> and <H4> and use heading3 and heading4.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 22nd, 2005
    Posts
    31
    That would be great then we can assign any "point" size we want

    Cool

    Mike

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Formating Data Help Needed
    By Doug247 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 6th, 2009, 01:05 AM
  2. AE Script and DYSE
    By reaper in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 7th, 2006, 12:26 AM
  3. Dyse Allposters?
    By reaper in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26th, 2005, 04:57 PM
  4. formating
    By buyyourstuff in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 28th, 2003, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •