The Thin White Duke PreacherMan's Avatar
    Question Guilt, Poverty Complex and Motivation
    Ok need some advice guys and gals. I have always hated to follow the flock and have always strived to do things differently, with a career being no exception. I got my degree in software development and spent a year and a half in a programming job. I really didn't like it as it was a bit too much of a rat race to me. I always had the feeling that I should be doing something different, that there should be an easier and more effective way to make money other than a 9 to 5.

You can imagine how happy I was then to discover affiliate marketing. It for me is the ideal job, great money, more time to do things and no boss I only have been in it for a short time but I'm am earning a weekly wage already and the sky is the limit really.

However for some reason I am feeling a bit guilty that I have found this great opportunity and great way to make money while others have to 'make it the hard way'. Anyone else ever feel this way? The thing is that I know it is incredibly idiotic to think this way, but it feels like I am subconciously trying to sabotage myself. I think it is a poverty complex, I could make a lot of money but I must feel I only deserve to make X amount per week. The thing is I dont know anybody who makes thousands of a week so it scares me a bit to realise that could easily be me if I put my mind to it.

Please kick my ass over this, I NEED to shake the guilt and poverty complex!

Also I sometimes feel a lack of motivation to seek out new income sources. This is especially true as income keeps growing that you have not done any extra work for. You see the figures rise and your mind fools you into thinking that it will stay on this upward curve which is NOT the case and I know this.