Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    26
    WM Newbie Stuck - What am I doing wrong?
    Hello...

    I am playing around with the WM trial version to make sure I can do what I need to before purchasing. But I can't figure this out - I'm trying to make the text "View this Product" a hyperlink using a data field, Product_Tracking_URL. Here is the code:

    [WM-Record]
    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1">
    <tr valign="top">

    <td valign="top" width="40%">[WM-ImagePath: Product_Thumbnail_URL width="125" height="100" hspace="1" vspace="6" border="0"]<br>
    <p>a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a></p>
    </a>
    </td>
    <td valign="top" width="60%"><b>Product:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Brief_Desc nolink]<br><br>
    <b>Our Price:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Sale_Price nolink]<br>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    [/WM-Record]

    And here is what appears on my website:

    a href="http://www.clixGalore.com/PSale.aspx?BID=xxxxxx=90664&AdID=xxxx&AffDirectURL=http://www.domain.com/product/customer/product.php?productid=16891%26campaign=clixgalore ">View this product

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thank you!

    Randal

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,423
    Try this:

    <P><a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a></p>
    Scott
    If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, then baffle them with bulls#!t
    Don't tell me that you'll do it... SHOW ME.
    Just because everyone else is drinking it is no reason for me to drink the KOOL-AID.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Nature Boy
    Try this:

    <P><a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a></p>
    I thought that was it, Nature Boy, but it didn't change the results. Here is my updated code:

    [WM-Record]
    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1">
    <tr valign="top">

    <td valign="top" width="40%">[WM-ImagePath: Product_Thumbnail_URL width="125" height="100" hspace="1" vspace="6" border="0"]<br>
    <p><a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a></p>

    </td>
    <td valign="top" width="60%"><b>Product:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Brief_Desc nolink]<br><br>
    <b>Our Price:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Sale_Price nolink]<br>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <p>
    <hr /></p>
    <p>

    [/WM-Record]

    And here is what appears on the webpage:

    http://www.clixGalore.com/PSale.aspx...ign=clixgalore ">View this product

    Thanks for pointing out my missing bracket though.

    Randal

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,423
    Try it without this part and see what it does:

    [WM-ImagePath: Product_Thumbnail_URL width="125" height="100" hspace="1" vspace="6" border="0"]<br>
    Scott
    If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, then baffle them with bulls#!t
    Don't tell me that you'll do it... SHOW ME.
    Just because everyone else is drinking it is no reason for me to drink the KOOL-AID.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Nature Boy
    Try it without this part and see what it does:

    [WM-ImagePath: Product_Thumbnail_URL width="125" height="100" hspace="1" vspace="6" border="0"]<br>
    I tried it as you suggested and the only thing that changed is the product image is no longer displayed.

    Here is the updated code:

    [WM-Record]
    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1">
    <tr valign="top">

    <td valign="top" width="40%"><br>
    <p><a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a></p>

    </td>
    <td valign="top" width="60%"><b>Product:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Brief_Desc nolink]<br><br>
    <b>Our Price:</b> [WM-Field: Product_Sale_Price nolink]<br>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <p>
    <hr /></p>
    <p>

    [/WM-Record]

    And the output is the same as my last post (minus the image).

    Randal

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,423
    Do you have "Text values are in quotes" checked on the Sources Tab?

    I'm not exactly sure, but it's acting like there's an extra " in there somewhere, considering the url has a space after it and before the quotes.

    If that's not it, try it with just the link and build from there:
    <a href=[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]>View this product</a>

    (notice I removed the quotes around this.)

    If that doesn't work, it might be best to email webmerge support and see what Richard has to say about it. check this thread for how to do that
    Scott
    If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, then baffle them with bulls#!t
    Don't tell me that you'll do it... SHOW ME.
    Just because everyone else is drinking it is no reason for me to drink the KOOL-AID.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    26
    If it helps any, here is the HTML source that is generated:

    <a href=<a href="http://www.clixGalore.com/PSale.aspx?BID=xxxxx&AfID=xxxxx&AdID=xxxx&AffDirectURL=http://www.domain.com/product/customer/product.php?productid=xxxxx%26campaign=clixgalore">http://www.clixGalore.com/PSale.aspx?BID=xxxxx&AfID=xxxxx&AdID=xxxx&AffDirectURL=http://www.domain.com/product/customer/product.php?productid=xxxxx%26campaign=clixgalore</a> View this product></a>


    As you can see, it creates two HREFs. Not exactly sure why. So far, nothing has changed the results.

    I will email support if I don't hear from Richard via the forum. Thanks for your help, Scott.

    Randal

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador Nature Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,423
    Hmmm...

    Check the Product_Tracking_URL field in the feed and see what it shows. I've never worked with a clixgalore feed before, but, from what you posted above, it kinda looks like they have that field set up as HTML already.

    If that's the case... ick!
    Scott
    If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, then baffle them with bulls#!t
    Don't tell me that you'll do it... SHOW ME.
    Just because everyone else is drinking it is no reason for me to drink the KOOL-AID.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    26
    Scott,

    Yes, the field is already coded with "http...". I think I now see why that's not so good.

    So I take it that 'typical' datafeeds are not already coded with html?

    Is there anything I can do code-wise or is it a matter of stripping the html out of the datafeed?

    Thanks.

    Randal

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 26th, 2005
    Posts
    3
    I just spent the last 2 hours fighting with this. I finally typed the A href tag like this <a href="
    then pasted the tag from the tag maker in WM, and finished the tag from there. I know good and well that I typed it just like the tag maker did-it works great now..... Here's what I'm using:

    <a href="[WM-Field: Product_URL]">[WM-Field: Product_Name]</a>

    and it worked perfectly.
    try this:
    type in just a portion of the tag:
    <a href="
    then paste the WM-Field: tag that you generate with the tag maker in WM.
    Now type the closing quotes, bracket, link text and the closing a tag. That was the only way I could get it to work.

    You can try pasting this---

    <a href="[WM-Field: Product_Tracking_URL]">View this product</a>

    I dunno if it will work, but I sure would like to know your results.

    I only just downloaded the trial version today. I get a huge CJ database, Sierra, Luggage, and quite a few from Performics. I already process all of these for my site search engine, but was looking for a way to do even more. I've got a LOT to learn!!!

  11. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Is it stuck?
    By mellie in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2006, 11:29 PM
  2. test purchase: wrong sale amount, therefore wrong commission
    By hungirl in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: December 6th, 2004, 04:07 AM
  3. Is CJ stuck again?
    By AffJus in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: January 7th, 2004, 01:14 PM
  4. CJ is Stuck Again??
    By Packy in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 24th, 2002, 02:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •