Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Sinclair Oil Lurker Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8th, 2005
    Location
    WWW
    Posts
    290
    Keeping a page from being returned in results
    My site search keeps listing the confirmation page in the results, and I don't want it to return with the other listings. How do I keep it from doing it that?

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador ToughTurkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    993
    You could either:

    1. put this code in the header of the page you don't want indexed:

    <META NAME="robots" CONTENT="NoIndex,nofollow">


    2. Forbid a specific page via the robots.txt file. It would look like this:

    User-Agent: *
    Disallow: mysecretpage.htm

  3. #3
    Sinclair Oil Lurker Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8th, 2005
    Location
    WWW
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    I'll give it a try. I know those meta tags, but wasn't sure which for a site search. I know the search engines follow those rules, but I guess a try to see what works will be the way to start.

  4. #4
    Sinclair Oil Lurker Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8th, 2005
    Location
    WWW
    Posts
    290
    nope
    the page is still coming up in the results, and my site search brings about results real quick. Here is what kind of search I have:

    Code:
    http://www.mysite.com/cgi-bin/xx-search/search.cgi?accountnumber
    I changed the part in the url where the "xx" is, and where my account number, as well as my domain. not taking any chances. But that is the kind of search my web host offers.
    Last edited by Lurker Jones; July 5th, 2005 at 01:27 AM. Reason: fix hyper link

  5. #5
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Lurker Jones
    the page is still coming up in the results, and my site search brings about results real quick. Here is what kind of search I have:

    Code:
    http://www.mysite.com/cgi-bin/xx-search/search.cgi?accountnumber
    I changed the part in the url where the "xx" is, and where my account number, as well as my domain. not taking any chances. But that is the kind of search my web host offers.
    I had a similar problem long time ago with some search engines indexing some files that I have on my "cgi-bin", so this is how I resolved that problem:

    This is my first line on my robots.txt
    User-agent: *
    Disallow: /cgi-bin/
    and ever since I included that line "Disallow: /cgi-bin/" in there, I have never seeing any those files on my cgi-bin included on any search engine anymore.
    ...

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador AddHandler's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Lurker Jones
    seems to be talking about "HIS OWN SITE SEARCH" not search engines..


    Lurker.. You might want to check the documentaion on your site search script.

    It sounds like it is one provided by your host..
    "But that is the kind of search my web host offers"

    SO you might try contacting them and ask how you can exclude directories and pages within the script they provide.. Most search scripts have some way of excluding pages and directories..

  7. #7
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    Quote Originally Posted by AddHandler
    Lurker Jones
    seems to be talking about "HIS OWN SITE SEARCH" not search engines..


    Lurker.. You might want to check the documentaion on your site search script.

    It sounds like it is one provided by your host..
    "But that is the kind of search my web host offers"

    SO you might try contacting them and ask how you can exclude directories and pages within the script they provide.. Most search scripts have some way of excluding pages and directories..
    If that is the case, all I can say is this:

    I never liked the kind of search my web host offers, so I went with Atomz.

    I was using Atomz Search before and they are good but, they only index 500 pages for free.

    When I made more than 500 pages I had to look for another one and after I try a few of the free SE on the web, I found the Fluid Dynamics Search Engine, they don't have a set limit of pages that I can index and they have many extra features that would cost extra money on another site.

    You might want to take a look at the free Fluid Dynamics Search Engine here

    What is the Fluid Dynamics Search Engine?

    Just look at some of the free Features here and then decide for yourself.

    Ever since I started using it, I have not found any problem with it and I like the way that I can even put some ads on the search result page.

    Sal.
    ...

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. no results on page 2 of search page
    By jazzylee77 in forum PopShops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 10th, 2010, 07:30 PM
  2. How to Limit search results page to 10 per page?
    By UKJ in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 4th, 2005, 06:16 AM
  3. Results page question
    By mrkarron in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2003, 10:58 AM
  4. Keeping the same network on a per-page/site basis
    By buy_online in forum Building Traffic, Newsletters & Advertising
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2003, 02:10 PM
  5. Adding an AE feed to the results page
    By beggers in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 13th, 2003, 07:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •