Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 14th, 2005
    Posts
    33
    Creating your template
    OK this is going to sound really stupid only because it is really stupid. I just downloaded webmerge and have been playing around with it this morning. OK so where do I create a template? I mean, if I am using FrontPage do I create it there or what in the world am I doing?? lol

    I have some knowledge of web design and am familiar with Frontpage and html and all that jazz but sometimes it takes me a few on new stuff...

    Thanks

    Edited to add: Darn, I think I put this in the wrong forum. Should be in Webmerge forum...

  2. #2
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    OK so where do I create a template? I mean, if I am using FrontPage do I create it there or what in the world am I doing?? lol
    You can create you templates on any directory you want, on your Hard Drive.

    It's good to use one new empty directory to test your first made pages until you get the hang of it.
    ...

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 14th, 2005
    Posts
    33
    Oh ok, I am now a bit confused on the Source Tab. Is this where I enter my datafeed? Boy am I lost.. haha!

    Do I need to retreive info from the datafeed or just enter in the file?


  4. #4
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by Remmy1611
    Oh ok, I am now a bit confused on the Source Tab. Is this where I enter my datafeed? Boy am I lost.. haha!

    Do I need to retreive info from the datafeed or just enter in the file?
    Steps to mastering WebMerge:

    1. Do the basic tutorial included in the package. It only takes a few minutes, and will answer that question and more.

    2. For anything else, drop into the WebMerge forum here on ABW:
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=194

    It's a lively crew there with lots of helpful tips.

    Also, there are links at the top of that page to two great third-party tutorials aimed at helping affiliates.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  5. #5
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    You can create your template in Frontpage. The only problems I have found is that when a url is involved, Frontpage will insert %. So you just need to edit that out of the url.

    When you run Webmerge you will specify which template file you will be using and you will specify the location of your datafeed (whether it is an Excel spreadsheet...etc.)



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  6. #6
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by zimmy
    You can create your template in Frontpage. The only problems I have found is that when a url is involved, Frontpage will insert %. So you just need to edit that out of the url.
    I believe FrontPage has an option to tell it not to monkey with your source. I don't use it myself so I'm not sure where it is, but I know many of our WebMerge customers use FrontPage so hopefully one of them can chime in with the specifics.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  7. #7
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by Remmy1611
    Oh ok, I am now a bit confused on the Source Tab. Is this where I enter my datafeed? Boy am I lost.. haha!

    Do I need to retreive info from the datafeed or just enter in the file?
    To answer your question more specifically, in the Sources tab you just click the "Exported File" button to assign your data feed. In most cases that's it: WebMerge will ususually select the appropriate delimiters for your file based on what it learns from reading the first few lines.

    Below the source file name is a section where you can set the delimiters if necessary. When set properly you should see the field names listed in the left-hand column, with the data from the first record in the file lining up with those on the right. If you see quotes surrounding the data there just click the "Text values are in quotes" checkbox so WebMerge can account for quoted text.

    If you have any other questions feel free to take advantage of the WebMerge forum here on ABW:
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=194
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Creating a poll
    By Rexanne in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 18th, 2005, 09:48 PM
  2. Need help creating banners
    By ourfashionhouse in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 15th, 2005, 09:13 PM
  3. Creating a template that create a table for each product
    By jerastraub in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 5th, 2004, 04:42 PM
  4. Creating a Database...help
    By ricochet in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2003, 11:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •