A bad week (recruiters/headhunters)
    Sigh. This has been a very frustrating week for me.

I recently decided that it would make sense to consider "employment" instead of freelancing/consulting/dabbling as I've been doing for several years. So, during July, I dusted off and updated my resume, and went over to HotJobs, Monster, CraigsList, and a few other places.

This week, I was starting to feel pretty good because I was getting lots of serious-sounding inquiries about job prospects, mostly from recruiters ("headhunters") who claimed to be calling on behalf of specific clients, including some Big Players.

Alas, in each case, these "recruiters" knew very little about the jobs they claimed that their "clients" were seeking to fill, and ultimately I have come to the conclusion that there were no "clients" -- instead, the recruiters are hungry and so they are submitting my resume to companies who have not retained them at all.

In two cases, the recruiters provided a "job description" that included some very odd contradictions, in which they required specific education that was not related to the job. I actually did an hour-long phone interview with the client, who scheduled another phone interview for me to speak with someone else two days later, only to get a call the next day telling me that the position had been filled. Now, when I go back and look at the job description and "educational requirements," I realize what happened: the company had already chosen a candidate for the job, and they went through a "recruiting" campaign in order to "prove" that no one else was "qualified" for the job -- a process that was "fixed" because of the contradictions between the "job duties" and the "required education." (Oddly enough, the jobs were extremely similar, both involving "paid search," but each demanded quite different AND nearly-irrelevant educational backgrounds.)