Detecting the number of ads displayed
    I've been displaying images just above my adsense ads because it draws attention to them and makes a huge impact on CTR. This use to work great because I had a 768x60 banner and it would always display 4 ads. Lately Google has been randomly switching between 3 and 4 ads though and it has really dropped my CTR because the images no longer line up. Is there anyway I can detect how many ads are being displayed (presumably with javascript) so I can turn on the right number of images?

Just a question Trilitech......isn't this the same thing as doing what Freetraff is doing as he explained in the "Hot Tip" just above your post?

Drawing attention to your google ads is suppose to be a "no,no". If that's the case, then how are you guys getting away with it?

I'm a newbie, and I just got started with adsense, and I sure don't want to mess it all up.

I just need to know if you can draw attention to the google ads or not. It seems like you've been here for a while and everything, so can you help me out?

ABW Ambassador
    I think google added this "feature" just to stop affiliates like Trilitech. Be honest, does your scheme improve click thru because it tricks the user, or because it benefits the advertiser?

I beleive the agreement says drawing undue attention to the ads. The images are not clickable, do not modify the actual ad and are not in any way misleading. They are not there to trick the user, they just help add color to that part of the page and make the ads blend in a bit better with the style of rest of the site. Google encourages you to adjust the colors, layouts and positioning on your page to catch the users eye, so no, I don't think it violates the agreement in any way or even the spirit of the agreement.

Ask yourself the question, what is the purpose of what you're doing?

'they just help add color to that part of the page and make the ads blend in a bit better with the style of rest of the site."