Does this sound like a sound plan?
    A newbie seeking advice, I am.

I am a distributor for a niche product line that is tailored for helping homeowners protect their homes from water damage caused by defective appliances, air conditoners, and plumbing leaks. I have a web site that sells these products online retail. I have dealers who buy these products from me wholesale and sell them retail. They may be plumbers, HVAC repair companies, hardware stores, etc.

I am also a home inspector that does inspections for people when they buy or sell their home. As such many homes that I see are candidates for sales of my products. I have a separate web site that promotes my services. This week I will be installing links from my home inspection web site to my product web site.

My plan:

Part 1: Become a merchant thru one of the networks (currently considering SAS). I would then do some direct marketing to other home inspectors around the country that have web sites to become affilliates. It is unlikely that other HI would want to be come stocking dealers but they very may well be interested in becoming an affiliate since it would not involve inventory or any hassel on their part. I have access to several sources of email addresses for they folks. I will also then expand to plumbers and HVAC contractors to solicit them to become affiliates. If professional affiliates want to become an affiliate for me, that's fine too but I may not be that great of an income stream for them since it is a niche product.

Part 2: Since there are certainly many products that are complementary to mine in the home protection/home improvement arena, I will become an affiliate for those merchants. If I get someone to my product site they may be interested in other products whether or not they elect to purchase my products.

So, does the above sound reasonable? What are the pitfalls that may bite me? What could I do that would be a better approach?