Implementation Example
    Hi,

I'm new to this datafeed thing, I would like to promote Buy.com. Is their someone here who can point me to an example of a buy.com datafeed website using Webmerge?

Thank you in advance.

Internet Cowboy
    That probably won't happen. Most affiliates keep their site quiet on the boards, but check out this tutorial. It is a great start.

Affiliate/AM Moonlighter dflsports's Avatar
    I highly doubt anyone is using buy.com feeds with webmerge. The feed is huge. You would have to take hours (many, many hours) to break up the feed to be usable.

Quote Originally Posted by dflsports
    I highly doubt anyone is using buy.com feeds with webmerge. The feed is huge. You would have to take hours (many, many hours) to break up the feed to be usable.
    What is the best way to use Buy.com's datafeed to make a datafeed site.

Thank you.

?????

No need to break up the feed due to its size. However, it will use lots of storage space on your server, once complete.

Fred

Quote Originally Posted by mdaisy
    What is the best way to use Buy.com's datafeed to make a datafeed site.

Thank you.
    That's a tall question, and not easy to answer. Can you be more specific?

Fred

Affiliate/AM Moonlighter dflsports's Avatar
    Fred,

In my experience with webmerge, large datafeeds are nearly impossible to run with webmerge. Could be my machine but I doubt it. You ever try to open a feed over 100 meg with webmerge and then run it with your template files? Times out every time. I do not have the Buy feed but I have to imagine that the feed has to be closer to the walmart or shopperschoice feeds and they each are over 200 megs when unzipped. Again this is just my experience with large feeds.

Quote Originally Posted by buy_online
    That's a tall question, and not easy to answer. Can you be more specific?

Fred
    What I really want is build a website using Buy.com's data feed. What is the best way to do it.

Thank you.

Fred,