Internet Cowboy
    Page numbers. Need help please.
    OK, I am not a programmer. My brother is doing some php scripting for me and I have a question for you whiz's.

He is making a script to display results from a MySQL database. When a 'tight' term is entered, it returns, say, 8 - 10 pages of results. It is all set up to put page numbers atop the page with a Next and Previous link. That works fine.

When a broad term is entered, the script might show 200 pages of results across the top, which ends up making the page REALLY wide and creating an awful horizontal scroll.

We need to be able to display 10 pages and when someone clicks on, say, page 6, it them displays links to pages 6 - 16 across the top and so on, always displaying 10 page links with the Next and Previous links there.

Can someone post a snippet that would help him here or enlighten us to the theory of how this is done?

Many thanks in advance!

1. Set up some PHP variables that indicate how many rows and columns you want per page. Let's say 4x4 = 16 items per page.

2. When you initially display the catalog you don't have a page number. Assume page one and display items 1 - 16.

3. You can use the number 16 and the total number of items you have (200) to figure how many pages. In this case 12.5 or really 13 pages. If the result of the math (200/16=12.5) does not equal the integer portion (12) then you bump the number of needed pages to the the integer portion (12) plus 1 = 13. Anything over 12 (12.0001) means thirteen pages.

4. Now that you know how many pages you can build a navigation bar for the top. For each number build a URL that links back to the same page with a parm '$page=' . $x. $x is a loop variable that you loop through and increase for the number of pages you want. So now we have a bar that has 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 .... Each number is a link.