Austin or Nashville?
    As much as I don't want to leave New Orleans, there's no work for professionals at this time. Just burger flippers and construction type jobs. I used to work in IT for one of the Hospitals that flooded. They have no concrete plans and might not open for 9 months or so.

I have a friend that will probably relocate to Austin and my old boss and another friend are going to Nashville. Our companies corporate office is in Nashville so there will also be other people that I know coming to town from time to time.

I'm planning to keep my house in New Orleans for the time being. Maybe rent it????

I'm leaning towards Nashville. The quality of life and cost of living seem comprable.

I need a place with some personality, some night life, lots of culture, good food.

My oldest sister moved to Dallas and almost overnight got a great job making twice what she made here. That's what makes it so hard to stay. There aren't any jobs here, the job situation here wasn't all that great before the storm. AND I can get a huge pay increase!

Any thoughts? I'd love to hear from people that know these two cities and can tell me why they love them.

Sarah (zoe was my dog)

I've never been to Nashville BUT I've been to Austin and loved it. I've visited a good friend of mine many times there. They have a great music scene, nightlife, good food/retauraunts. I grew up in Chicago and there are a lot of Chicago refugees down in Austin.

My 2 cents...

Nashville. The 25th largest city in the US the last time I checked. At one time it had a higher per capita murder rate than L.A. or NYC... but hey, learn to "duck and roll" and keep yer head down - lol!

I lived in Nashville for nine years and loved it! If I were you, I would move to Brentwood, or Franklin - nearby sub-burb areas of Nashville, and where most of the Country Music stars and producers live.
    [B][COLOR=Red]I look forward to Google's demise[/COLOR][/B]