Amazon Operating Agreement
    I am just beginning to explore the world of affiliate marketing and was checking out the agreements and compensation arrangements for Amazon, Ebay, Overstock, Etc...

I came across this in the Amazon Operating Agreement, "You may not purchase products during sessions initiated through the links on your site for your own use, for resale or commercial use of any kind. This includes orders for customers or on behalf of customers or orders for products to be used by you or your friends, relatives, or associates in any manner. Such purchases may result (in our sole discretion) in the withholding of referral fees and/or the termination of this Agreement."

Does this mean that I can not refer friends and family to my site to make purchases? I would assume word-of-mouth through friends and family would be a good place to start to test the waters before really jumping in, is this not allowed? I don't want to be banned as an Amazon associate before getting a chance to see what opportunities are out there.

Please advise... (Thank you!)

It basically just means that you won't get credit if you place your own orders through your own links.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

And I think they're also saying you can't have somebody buy something for you with their account. No idea how they expect to enforce that rule..

- Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

so friends and family shouldn't use your computer to place orders, or even use the same IP.

If they do detect what looks like you doing the ordering they just deduct the commission from your report.