newbie question on link structure
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie to linkshare but have a question re link structure for linkshare. I signed up and was approved for an affiliate program with linkshare and the link they have me is structured to have a link plus a tracking pixel. Is the tracking pixel required? In other works, I just want to create a bunch of links to use as I wish and put them under text or banners. Is this allowed and posisble? If so, what is the correct structure to be used. Basically what I want to do is take a bunch of products from the merchant site and then append my tracking code to the urls. Is anyone doing this? Thanks.
    John

Outsourced Program Manager Chris -  AMWSO's Avatar
    No the tracking pixel is not required, I would put ONE on each page just as a way of tracking page impressions versus clicks, having more than one means you get worthless click through data.

cheers

Chris
    Affiliate Marketing by AMWSO. Skype - chrissanderson ::: TEL 1-720-336-1784 ::: www.amwso.net
    Join our affiliate programs :Vaper Empire, Iolo, Art of Tea, or See ALL our Programs here

Exclamation
    but if you are making links to products for a merchant you'll have to follow an odd procedure.

supposedly you can do that completely within the LS interface but it doesn't seem to work that way.

be in LS where you can see a page for making product links for a merchant, but have another window open direct to the merchant from which you will get the url to the product.

get the url of the product from the merchant site then copy it over to the form within LS to make the link. the link should come out as the five digit number to the left of the decimal point and there should be a lot of numbers to the right.

you won't be able to test the link you made for a while, sometimes as long as an hour. and go back a week later and test again.

ABW Ambassador LinkShare Moderator's Avatar
    John,