Affiliate/AM Moonlighter dflsports's Avatar
    Database of datafedds how to update - mysql
    So I loaded many datafeeds into a mysql database. I have a search script and other things working. I use an ID field set to auto increment and use that as the primary key. (I am a newbie at this stuff so my knowledge is limited)

So when I want to update the data, do I have to delete all the existing data and upload the new data?

If I try to overwrite the data on a per feed basis, how will a script know to overwrite the correct data since the id field is created "on the fly"?

the feeds come from different sources, not just one place like CJ or Linkshare but from both linkshare and CJ among many other places.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide

Are you using the unique key for any queries? If not, you can create a temp table using the same structure, import your data into that and then swap the table names. You can also create a script that will do all of this.
    Greg Rice Affiliate Program Management
    www.gocmc.com info(AT)gocmc.com | 330-259-1223

Join us! - MiNeeds.com | DiscountCandleShop/CheeseSupply | Feng Shui Plaza

Ummmm, Ummm, Ummmm

Well I use the ID field to create the individual product pages "on the fly"

What I'm asking is if it matters if Blue Widget has an ID of 1 today but may have ID of 2 tomorrow. If this happens, will it ruin your query? For example, a category page would show products that match a certain category and not the auto increment ID number. What I'm thinking is if this ID is auto incremented, then it may not be that important for your queries. If you're not searching for this ID, then the above mentioned method would work. If this ID can't change and must remain as it is originally assigned, then the update is a little more complicated.