Question Newbie Looking At ShareaSale and CJ
    I am a newbie merchant. My product is a personalized gift, comparable to "name a star", but different. We offer two product "kits", Standard ($53 inc ship) and Deluxe ($63 inc ship).

We launched three weeks ago with small PPC and Biz Rate campaigns, and a PRNewswire release. We generated traffic and made over $2300 in sales, with a decent conversion rate (about 4%). Thus, we are fairly certain there's a market for our product.

A few questions:

1. We are analyzing Shareasale and CJ. Shareasale looks good b/c of the cost of entry, but CJ looks good because of the large network. What do folks recommend in terms of networks for a product such as ours?

2. Obviously, we'd like to sign up as many good affiliates as possible as quickly as possible. We realize that we will have to make efforts in this regard, but what type of "opting in" by affiliates could we expect from simply setting up as a merchant on Shareasale or CJ and letting affiliates find us?

3. How do we ascertain the viability of our product as an affiliate marketing appropriate product? Would we be wiser to test on Shareasale first, or would any results there be inconclusive in terms of extrapolating them to what CJ could do for us. We could swing CJ financially if it made sense.

4. What type of commission structure would make our product attractive to affiliates? We want this to be real win-win.

Thank you for any input. We would greatly appreciate candid responses.

Hi, Welcome.
    i am a sharasale merchant,
    no complaints here.
    Find us at shareasale.com 12% commission
    Shareasale Merchant 7191
    PLAZAN SKIN CARE As seen on TV . Used by Jennifer Lopez

We are analyzing Shareasale and CJ
    You have come to the right forum for that question, but you will probably be best served by prowling around here and getting a feel for how the two are liked.