Is this appropriate for an affiliate manager to do?
    I am an affiliate manager setting up a new program and I want to make a resource section in the affiliate console so that my affiliates can learn more about online marketing.

Most of the tools I recommend are free, but some of the best "short and sweet" resources about online marketing are e-books which are sold for a small fee and have their own affiliate programs.

Is it inapropriate to sign my company up as an affiliate of those programs and make the commission when one of our affiliates buys one of those products?

If the affiliate will be buying the product anyway, it would be a shame to waste the commission, but I do not want to hurt the reputation of my program.

What do you guys think?

Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    Just my opinion, but skip the aff links. I wouldn't say it's heinously wrong, but it sends a signal to affiliates that you're spending your time and brain power to profit from your own affs visiting your site when you should be focusing on how to get your affs to profit from working with you. And by the way, many affiliates will find a way to make sure that a commission from something they purchase, won't "go to waste"... so I don't think you'd make much money doing this anyhow. The risk/reward isn't worth it and it'd just be a distraction from your main role / intentions.

My best merchants are the ones who ask me what I need and work to try and get it for me and are always trying to find ways to help me sell for them, and not charging or making a profit from those steps - the merchant's reward for good support is good sales, not commissions.

Quote Originally Posted by MarcFolch
    it would be a shame to ....

... hurt the reputation of my program.
    I agree.