Incentive Sites
    Could someone please explain to me the pros and cons, mainly the cons, of allowing incentive sites into a SAS program that Iím getting started.

Iíve always been on the affiliate side and my sites have always evolved around content, along with product pages. So I have no experience on incentive type sites. Iíve searched through previous posts, but I just cant get a good understanding on why some have problems with incentive sites and others donít.

I would appreciate someone providing a clear explanation on why I wouldnít want incentive type sites in my program. BTW, my program will be selling products for a commission if this matters to someone who wants to help with an explanation.

Thanks for any feedback on this.

I think it's mainly because users coming from incentive sites are just 1 time, low quality users. Meaning they will probably never go to your site again, unless they get paid for it again.

Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    Give us an example of what you mean by incentive site... the term gets used in several different contexts... bho / loyaltyware, coupon sites, pay-per-view, etc...

Donuts,
    I'm not sure of how the different examples you mentioned work, but I was thinking of a site that for example offers cash back. So I quess if I offered a 20% commission then the incentive site would then turn around and offer their member 10%, etc. back as cash. Does this example make sense? And if so what would be the disadvantage to me as a merchant, or also any disadvantage to my other potential affialites.

I'm basically wondering how it would potentially hurt me and I also dont want to tick off any other potential affiliates by allowing an incentive site that is frowned upon by other affiliates into my program.

Thanks

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar