Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 1st, 2005
    Posts
    89
    Alexa Site
    can someone try to load up the ALexa.com site and let me know if its down or not? I tried loading it and it wont load up for me. My computer has been acting funny lately and it might have a virus not letting me view certain websites. (because today i also couldnt load moreover.com)

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    December 1st, 2005
    Posts
    89
    please, it only takes 1 second

  3. #3
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Alexa dot com loads for me
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  4. #4
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609
    Me2
    Continued Success,

    Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    December 1st, 2005
    Posts
    89
    hmm, i guess my computers screwed.. thanks guys!

  6. #6
    notary sojac Herb ԿԬ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Central/Western NY State
    Posts
    7,741
    see if you have a lot of entries in your "hosts" file; you may see the sites you can't get to listed there.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    December 1st, 2005
    Posts
    89
    see if you have a lot of entries in your "hosts" file; you may see the sites you can't get to listed there.
    ya i just checked the HOSTS file and there was all sorts of entries in it.. i guess ive been hijacked

    i deleted them all and now all is good (i still cant access my router though )

    if i had my Win XP cd i'd trash this whole computer and start fresh

    thanks for the help guys!

  8. #8
    notary sojac Herb ԿԬ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Central/Western NY State
    Posts
    7,741
    Cool
    cleaning out the hosts file is fine but the bug that did the job could still be somewhere in your computer. you may wish to scan for viruses using one or two of the online services like: housecall.antivirus.com which probably was one of the domains blocked in the hosts file.

    while the hosts file is freshly determined clean is the best time to do a scan. rebooting without doing it could touch off the virus action again.

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. my site disappeared from Alexa all together
    By randomtexture in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 14th, 2009, 07:45 AM
  2. My non-existent site is in Alexa!
    By sloth in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 28th, 2004, 08:35 AM
  3. Alexa???
    By marito in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: January 9th, 2004, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •