Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Merchants: Why Your Coupon/Promotion Didn't Get Added
    Merchants probably wonder why affiliates don't take advantage of their coupons or promotions. I've been running a coupon site for nearly seven years now, and I've seen tons of coupons and promotions I didn't run.

Here are some of the most common reasons.

1) You didn't provide full details. Whether you're sending out a newsletter or email, posting on ABW, providing links in an interface, or syndicating a bargain through a coupon management system (like SAS or BeFree, or AMWSO's CouponDatafeed.com), you should provide everything needed in that one spot. Don't make us go to your affiliate interface and/or to your site to piece together the information.

1a) No Expiration Date Provided. Coupon sites shy away from coupons and bargains with no expiration date (except in cases when it truly is ongoing). We want to provide current, complete, accurate information. When we have expired stuff listed, it's bad all the way around. The customer is upset. The merchant has to deal with customer service issues. And we don't get the sale/commission. Give us the expiration date, and this isn't an issue.

1b) Unclear Expiration Date. When you given an expiration date (unless you clearly spell it out), it should be valid through and including that date, expiring at 11:59pm on the expiration date. Don't say it expires on 3/15, then pull it at 12:01am on 3/15. Also, make sure you specify the time zone if you specify a time. 11:59pm EST is quite a bit different than 11:59 PST.

1c) No Affiliate Link. Coupons or promotions that are prominent on your home page don't necessarily need a link (but it can help). Too often, merchants don't provide an affiliate link in their communications. This forces us to go to the affiliate interface and find a link. Sometimes that can be time-consuming. Also, make sure you provide links that are pre-coded with the affiliate's ID.